Skip to content

Primped

February 8, 2009

Guest Blogger: The Lovely Gina

Jess’ closet has been primped

Do you remember this post? Well, here are some pictures of what we did for Jess’ Prayer Closet. Yes, this all fit in her closet! Jess had a rather LARGE space to work with and we had a $65.00 budget. This is what we created.

Jan-09 Git 017

She already had the chair in her closet, which had a thread of deep purple running though the pattern. So deep plum-ish purple was our color pallet.

Jan-09 Git 013

I picked up one of those round press board tables at Anna’s Linens for about $8.00. I found some nice stripe fabric at Hobby Lobby with the deep purples, aqua, and cream along with some coordinating floral and solid fabrics. I also found a deep purple king sized sheet at Old Time Pottery for $5.99. I cut it and made the large table skirt out of that. (Finding a sheet that matches your color scheme is a cheap way to add extra fabric to anything.) I then took the stripe and some left over solid fabric and made a pillow for her chair.

Jan-09 Git 020

I picked up a lamp from Kirkland’s and added some purple ribbon for a bow. Framed Psalm 30:11-12 which happens to be the main scripture for her blog. Then, just added a little candy bowl and a vase of flowers with colored beads in the bottom for a splash of color.

Jan-09 Git 019
I found this photo board for $3.00 second hand. It was practically brand new! It had cream ribbon, but I covered it with that deep purple ribbon to pop her color in there a bit.

Jan-09 Git 018

These are her prayer wreaths. I picked up some floral wreaths and covered them with coordinating fabric, tied satin ribbon to them and hung them on the wall. I cut her some little cards and stamped some with pictures of leaves, hearts etc., then left them blank for her to fill in prayer requests and praises, so that she can pin them to the wreathes.

Jan-09 Git 024

Amanda, wrote her a little something on this one;-)

Jan-09 Git 027

But, this part I think is my favorite. She already had this little wicker end table thing. I took my remaining fabric made a few runners, then underneath slid a little wooden box made for her by her son where she can store her devotional stuff. The sweetest part is that the little wooden box was the exact same aqua blue as the fabric!!! It was a perfect match! It all came together so nicely, especially since I had never seen her closet.

However, once I got in there and saw the actual space, I had a few more ideas that I thoght would look really good. She gave me the go ahead to do them. Yay! So now, we are going to add icicle lights from some empty shelving above and hang some sheer-like fabric from the ceiling to close it in a bit and make the space feel a little more quaint. Gosh, how nice to have such a large space that you have to add some optical illusions to make it feel smaller;-)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 9:26 am

    what a lovely little place… bet you’re feeling good, Jess… may you find many, many hours of shelter and peace in Him while you’re in there.

    also, on a covetous and sarcastic note, I hate when my closet seems too BIG after I put an armchair in there. haha.

  2. Tara permalink
    February 8, 2009 1:13 pm

    I love it!!

  3. February 8, 2009 3:13 pm

    That’s beautiful!!!

  4. February 8, 2009 5:51 pm

    awesome!!!!!!!!!! i need to make a prayer space too. 😉

Leave a Reply

