Skip to content

I Heart Gossip Girl. Unfortunately.

February 10, 2009

Gossip Girl is this really wonderful show filled with beautiful people and amazing clothes.  Some occasional drug use.  Definitely some sex.  Basically everything that the world gloriously offers.

A few weeks ago, I was in a horrible mood.   I clicked through iTunes and bought the first episode.  Watching Blair and Serena fight about Serena’s affair with Nate made me feel better.  I bought another episode.  And another.

It was after midnight when I finally went to sleep – four episodes under my belt.

The next day was Saturday. Click, buy, watch. Click, buy, watch.

Sigh.

At some point it occurred to me that watching a show filled with sex and marijuana may not be the best use of my time and I stopped.

But, to be honest, the show really hooked me.  Every time I have gotten in a bad mood since my first episode (!), I automatically go to iTunes and debate buying another episode.  I mean, an hour of total escape sounds great – especially when I feel so exhausted all the time.

Last night I didn’t feel well.  I had a cold and a low-grade fever and Hugh told me to rest while he made dinner and bathed the kids. (Seriously – who needs sexy Nate when I could watch sexy Hugh laugh with our children?)  I was tempted to lie in bed and watch Gossip Girl.  After all, I reasoned, I’m actually sick tonight.  It’s fine.

Then I had a tiny flash of insight.  I have been struggling to focus in my prayer time lately.  Distracted and stressed, my thoughts run in a hundred different directions.   I thought:

If I watch Gossip Girl tonight, then it will be harder for me to pray.

Yep.  That was my insight.  If I fill my mind with junk, I will have more muck to wade through to actually get in God’s Presence.  And though Gossip Girl is relaxing and fun, nothing compares to His Presence.  Even if I haven’t felt it in a while.

I shut my computer and lay in bed, listening to a sermon on my iPod as I fell asleep.  A little bored, maybe.  But happy with my choice.

This morning I woke up rested and headed for my prayer chair and – guess what?!?

I had this sweet time with Jesus.  I read the Bible, wrote out scriptures, and really prayed for some things in my heart and some people in my life.

Death or life.  One baby step at a time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 8:32 am

    I’ve never thought of it this way before… But it makes a lot of sense!

    Thank you for yet another gem of a thought.

  2. February 10, 2009 2:36 pm

    Good for you!!! God has totally been speaking this to my heart too. (Even though I have know idea what Gossip Girl is) But, just the challenge to live a holy life. Holiness is the opposite of worldliness. To walk out a holy life, means to say NO to worldly things one choice at a time. Thanks for the post! love your guts!

  3. February 10, 2009 8:06 pm

    Oh, this hurts us where we live, doesn’t it? Thank you for pointing out this using your typical honesty. Your vulnerability is a gift.
    Love reading you.

  4. February 11, 2009 12:13 am

    Jess…
    Just want you to know that you are beautiful…because you are honest.
    And your prayer closet is beautiful too….I want one!
    Hugs…Laura

Leave a Reply

