Skip to content

2008

March 5, 2009

We arrived home
at two in the morning

exhausted

this morning I cried
in my kitchen

remembering

just ten days ago
where he stood

laughing and loving
my children

my husband sits
this morning

on the old brown couch

talking talking
silent
talking talking
silent

crying

my four year old wails
mama mama mama

over and over

I want everyone to be quiet
isn’t that awful?

I want to fall asleep
and wake up in 2008

and live the year again

this time
pausing
appreciating
thanking
hugging
looking

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 6:45 pm

    looking forward to the relief of your grief for you, but know that these posts are neither burdensome nor annoying to read. they’re beautiful, jess…. and it’s my dear pleasure to be reading them and praying for you.

  2. Amy permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:16 pm

    Jess,
    Your blog is helping me with my own grief and sudden loss of my dear mother-in-law about 9 months ago. I recognize your steps, I can see your shadow. This I know, my savior said, “I will never leave you or forsake you.”

Leave a Reply

