Skip to content

My New Best Friend

March 10, 2009

(This is my first non-grief post.  I have this odd guilt.  Maybe people will think I didn’t love my father-in-law very much if I stop writing about him.  Maybe it is not appropriate to write something funny.  Sigh.  I don’t know.  Yesterday when I prayed I felt like the Lord told me that the best way for me to help my family heal was to become whole myself.  So I am trying to make choices this week that bring life to me.  Writing this post is an example of this.)

When Amazon released the Kindle almost two years ago, I immediately begged Hugh for one.  Sure, they were four hundred dollars – but, seriously, it was WORTH it for an UBER e-BOOK READER!

Hugh said no.

I asked again.

Hugh said no again.

He did, however, promise to buy me the second generation Kindle – whenever that came out.  “It will be better, Jess,” he said firmly.  “It gives them a chance to work out all the bugs and stuff.  Just wait, kay.”

I waited.  And waited.

And, earlier this month, Amazon released the Kindle 2.  I reserved my spot in line immediately and starting counting down the days until my smiley Amazon box would arrive.

We were in Indiana last week when the Kindle came, and it was several days before I had the energy to open the box.  But when I finally did….

Bliss.

Love.

Oh.  My.

It is wonderful.  WONDERFUL.

Sleek and shiny portable book goodness.  I am in love.

I began ordering books for my Kindle immediately.  In the last three days, I have purchased seventeen books – I know.  Hugh is trying desperately to give me a limit.  I keep yelling at him about grief and the need for reading right now.  We have compromised on “Jess’s Kindle Credits” – a little system where I promise to only order a certain number of Kindle books per month (books over fifteen dollars count as two credits).

For your amusement, I am posting the list of books I have purchased for my Kindle (an odd mix, indeed.  Really.):

  1. Believing God Day by Day by Beth Moore (Spiritual Jess)
  2. Benjamin Franklin by Walter Isaacson (Teaches History Jess)
  3. Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Trying to Veg Jess)
  4. Does This Make Me Look Fat? by Leah Feldon (Wishes I Dressed Cute Jess)
  5. Harpoon: Into the Heart of Whaling by Andrew Darby (Hates Whaling Jess)
  6. Healing Journey Through Grief by Phil Rich (Emotionally Healthy Jess)
  7. Holy Bible English Standard Version (Needs the Word Jess)
  8. Matthew Henry’s Commentary by Matthew Henry (Vaguely Wants to be a Bible Scholar Jess)
  9. Narrative Magazine (Loves the Idea of Being Literary But Hasn’t Read This Yet…Jess)
  10. New York Times (Informed Jess)
  11. No-Cry Discipline Solution by Elizabeth Pantley (Has a Screaming Four-Year-Old Jess)
  12. One Year Bible (Apparently Needs Several Bibles Jess)
  13. The Poet’s Corner by John Lithgow (Poet Jess)
  14. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (Likes to Imagine Self Reading Classics Jess)
  15. Sailing Alone Around the Room by Billy Collins (Buys Poetry Books to Read to Students Soon Jess)
  16. Streams in the Desert by L.B. Cowman (Need Short Devo Book Cuz Can’t Focus in Prayer Time Jess)
  17. Wild Blue: A Natural History by Dan Bortolotti (Obsessed with Blue Whales Jess)

Have a good, book-filled day!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Rainbow Brite permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:44 am

    I love to get lost in a book. Good for you! Go, get lost, learn something, laugh, smile, growl at the characters.
    After I run a ton of errands this morning, that just may be my reward for my hard work today too.
    Enjoy your Kindle! (By the way, have you come up with a proper name for it yet? Or is it just going to be “Kindle”?)

  2. March 10, 2009 9:16 am

    that is an amazing list!

  3. March 10, 2009 10:26 am

    I think it’s awesome that you are writing a non-grief post.

    Your husband loves you very very much to let you buy all those books!

    Have a wonderful day.

  4. March 10, 2009 12:24 pm

    As much as it makes me smile when I see things we share in common, this is one area I wish for you that you were NOT like me…the whole worrying about what others think.

    You do not have to explain or apologize for any of your posts. I think it is great that you are doing a post like this. It’s okay to have more in your life right now than just grief. I doubt your father-in-law would want you to stop everything and have absolutely no joy right now.

    Cry when you feel like crying, laugh when you feel like laughing. There may even be crazy moments when you do both. And that’s okay, too. There are no rules in grieving…or in posting or not posting on it.

    Love you.

  5. Amanda McEwen permalink
    March 10, 2009 12:33 pm

    New best Friend indeed! I can take this “Kindle”. Can the Kindle wax your lip?? Can the Kindle stir fry you zuccini and squash? hmph!

    heeee heeee 🙂

  6. March 10, 2009 12:37 pm

    Sorry I haven’t been commenting much, but I have been reading your other posts and crying.

    This sounds heavenly, since I ADORE reading, but I am so old school when it comes to the feel of a book in my hand. Maybe one day I will become technologically advanced!

  7. March 10, 2009 3:53 pm

    Trying. Really. Hard. Not to hate you.
    Yes, I know “hate” is a strong word, but I really, really want a Kindle 2.
    The thought of it gets me all goose-bumpy. I would have so many books…..

  8. March 10, 2009 7:03 pm

    Jess, in regards to your “disclaimer”.. It’s been almost five months since we lost Seth.. And we just spent five of the last 7 days in Disneyland.. I was glad to prove to my kids & myself that life DOES go on and we WILL be able to laugh again.. and sad for the hole still in our hearts all at the same time..

    Enjoy your Kindle! And as you can, get back to livng. (I’m saying that as much for ME as for you!) Hugs!

  9. March 10, 2009 7:57 pm

    Quite the list! 🙂

    (I haven’t read the No Cry Discipline Solution–but Pantley’s No Cry Sleep Solution saved my sanity back in the day!). 🙂

    (((hugs))).

  10. patty permalink
    March 11, 2009 11:47 am

    It’s so great to hear your experience with the Kindle. I LOVE to read. I keep thinking I’ll miss the feel of the book, turning the pages, seeing how far along I am, blah, blah, blah….. so it’s good to hear from another reader what you think. I do love the “compactness” of those little guys. Happy reading to you Jess!!

Leave a Reply

