Skip to content

First Day of School

March 15, 2009

apple

I need to go back to school.

I thought very little about my class until yesterday.  Then, at a birthday party, one of my students walked in to pick up her little brother.  I almost cried as I hugged her.  Oh, my gosh.  I missed this girl.

I miss all of them.

How have they done the last few weeks?  I am happy (I suppose) that they had a wonderful sub.  But did they miss me?  How are their papers coming along?  How is X doing with her latest crush?  Is Y still focusing well on her school work?  How is Z doing without me giving him the evil eye every morning in Assembly?  He knows I adore him, so I sometimes doubt the effectiveness of the evil eye.  Oh, well.

I have spent the day dreaming about tomorrow morning.  My alarm is set early so I can jump out of bed, drink coffee, and get ready for school… get ready for my students.

Any doubt I had that I was not ready to go back to school is gone.  I may spend the first few days trying to figure out how to catch-up.  I may be a little slow at first.  I may have to run to the bathroom a couple of times to cry.

But I love and miss my students.  That is enough to help me ease back into teaching tomorrow.

I can’t wait.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 12:34 pm

    I am so glad to read about you feeling not only ready but excited to be going back. I am glad you waited until today. And I am praying that today has and will go great!

    Trusting you are safe in His hands,
    K

Leave a Reply

