Skip to content

Olio

March 18, 2009

Today was a great day.

*I am back in the groove at school.

*My children have not cried with me about missing Grandpa today.

*I have dinner from my friend Missy in the fridge (she put homemade cookies in the bag of food – but, um, Hugh and I ate a bunch already.  Oops.). 

*I have a pre-recorded episode of “Toddlers and Tiaras” waiting for me once the kids go to bed.

*I am still excited about my Kindle.

*Hugh had a good day and that makes me happy.

*Today I really love my job and my boss.

*My house is clean.

*I’ve only cried twice today. Once while putting on make-up this morning and I thought, “Dad’s gone.” Once at school during a meeting about the upcoming play. Still, twice is better than LOTS.

*I have two emails waiting for me from my friend Brenda. She is the person I am the most honest with in my life besides Hugh and Amanda. I can tell her every dark thing I feel and she loves me anyway.

*Finally, I am happy that people read my blog even when I post pictures of candy and lists about why I am happy. I mean, thanks for reading. Sorry I’m not a little more exciting in the writing lately. I’ll try to think about some pain later and write about it. That usually makes for a good post.

p.s. If someone can tell me why this post is called “Olio”, I’ll send you a little gift from Amazon.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 3:53 pm

    Is it called Olio because it’s lighter than your recent writing? Glad you’re doing better!

  2. March 18, 2009 4:37 pm

    means hodgepodge or miscellaneous? I’m glad you’re doing better too 🙂

  3. Alicia permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:30 pm

    I would guess as “His Girl Amber” said…..

    Thankful for a great day!

  4. stephanie renner permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:38 pm

    It is like margarine.

  5. March 18, 2009 5:40 pm

    I’ve never heard the word olio before.. In additon to hodgepodge or miscellaneous, it also means: “dish of many ingredients”..

    What exactly do you have from Missy in your fridge? (Besides the almost gone homemade cookies )

  6. March 18, 2009 6:14 pm

    His Girl Amber beat me to it (not surprising, given MY last couple of days), but it is a post of random miscellany….

  7. March 18, 2009 8:09 pm

    There was a girl named Jess
    And she thought she was a mess
    But then she used the word Olio
    Making us smile and letting us know
    Her hodgepodge delights are back
    thank goodness because without her, our lives lack—

    Hugs to you friend and hey— share those cookies with me would ya’!!!

  8. March 18, 2009 10:33 pm

    I *would* say that you had the word on the brain since you just got back from the midwest, but couldn’t spell “oleo”.

    But then Miriam Webster’s says “2 a: a miscellaneous mixture”.

  9. sumijoti permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:59 pm

    I thought you had a really tough time spelling hello. 😉

    Still lovin’ your blog and your heart, whether it is happily mundane or profoundly sad… I can’t seem to get away from the mundanely sad myself.

    ~ Sumi

    http://www.sumijoti.wordpress.com

  10. March 19, 2009 8:09 am

    Since everyone else has this “olio” delimma solved already, I will not offer what would have been my pitiful guess. 🙂

    I will just say that I love that in your description of yourself over there in your sidebar you refer to yourself as a wife to a man with a beard. I am also a wife to a man with a beard….and I just love his beard…it makes me happy. I figured I would share that since you are sharing what makes you happy. 🙂

    Blessings, sweet Jess.

  11. March 19, 2009 9:42 am

    I love reading your blog no matter what you’re writing about! And I’m with Lysa – share those cookies!!

  12. trendyand2kids permalink
    March 19, 2009 4:12 pm

    Ha! you mentioned me in your blog!
    I . . . LOVE . . . YOU!

    Brenda

  13. Joy permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:43 pm

    Ha! My mother-in-law always asks me to get the oleo out of the fridge for her. That word immediately makes me think of her, of Yankees, and of that generation- my mother-in-law’s generation. I love how she refuses to use the word margarine, even when she gets perplexed looks from people in my generation. It makes me wonder what words we will still be using one day. “I don’t care what you youngin’s call it! I’m still calling it the Internet.” Ha!

    So looking forward to your post about …..

  14. March 19, 2009 10:33 pm

    Hi…Well…I’m not sure why your blog is called Olio…but when I was a little girl I remember my Mom calling butter, (margarine)…olio…but I believe it is spelled oleo…anyway…my guess would be…because you have blond hair…lol…just a guess……I like coming and reading your blog….thanks and have a spectacular GOD filled day!

    Patricia

  15. March 20, 2009 2:33 pm

    last night i just saw a sign in a restaurant bathroom for olive oil and the oil part was spelled olio. so maybe it is italian for oil? just throwing out a guess…

  16. March 20, 2009 4:08 pm

    Hi, Frequent reader of your blog. Just wanted to say I’m so happy you had a good day. I read all your posts about your Father-in-law’s death. Wanted to tell you thank you for finding the time and strength for sharing the messy and painful time grief is. Everybody asks, How it’s going”. But do they really want to hear the truth? You expressed it so open and honestly.

    I wanted to tell you I’m sorry you and your family lost such a loving person in your life. I too had rough childhood and my mother is not in my life. But my in-laws are great and have become my family.

    Sometimes I read, you think your blogs are to boring, to honest or to revealing…just write for yourself Jess…and the readers will be there. Readers like me who don’t always speak up to let you know we are here but you help by showing that we are not alone in our life experiences. No one is perfect but everyone is worthy of love and a life with Jesus.

    P.S. Have to be honest…have no idea why this post is titled Olio! =) haha! I hope I’m not the only dumby!

  17. March 23, 2009 11:55 am

    hooray for karen (after her week, she deserves a present)!

Leave a Reply

