Skip to content

What I Did On My Vacation by Jessica H.

April 23, 2009

Hugh and I went to Northern California and the Oregon Coast last week for our ten-year anniversary.  It was…glorious. Hugh took lots of pictures of Highway 101 as we drove along the coast. See:

oregon-1

While Hugh took pictures of the breathtaking scenery, I peed on the side of the road because I could never find a bathroom. See the road? (Well, YOU’VE probably done it, too. Don’t correct me. I had antibacterial wipes, people.)

oregon-3

Finally, we made it to the Redwoods. Here is Hugh in front of a sign. He looks very handsome, indeed. I especially love the little shout-out to our College on his shirt. Are we getting to old to wear college stuff? Hm.

oregon-4

Redwoods? They are very tall. And humbling. It’s hard to describe the silence of those old-growth forests. Here is cutey Hugh in front of a tree:

oregon-5

After spending some time among the trees, we went whale watching! We trekked out to this big rock in Patrick’s Point State Park (look closely for those little steps along the upper left side of the big rock) and watched for passing gray whales all day.

oregon-7

We did not see any whales.

oregon-111

So Hugh and I did other things for a while. We saw Sea Lions…

oregon-13

and we ate at fun little roadside diners. Yum!

oregon-12

We also talked and played.

oregon-101

Near the end of our trip we went whale watching again (doesn’t Hugh look great in his whale-watching gear?!):

oregon-92

And we saw whales! Tons of gray whales and even a pod of Orcas. We have no pictures of the actual whales because we were too busy watching to click…but here is a “very happy whale woman” picture of me in Newport – home of the wonderful Whale Watching Center….and the place we saw the most whales! Don’t I look happy? I was!

oregon-141

If I move to Oregon soon, you now understand why. Beautiful. Calm. Whales. Food. Big bookstores. Lovely.

It was everything we hoped it would be…seriously. The time alone – just the two of us – was amazing.

And we can’t wait to go back!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 5:51 am

    i’m so glad y’all had an awesome time!

  2. Rainbow Brite permalink
    April 24, 2009 8:18 am

    soooo cool! i’m glad that you had a good time. more pictures please!

  3. April 24, 2009 11:07 am

    I’m ready to move to Oregon just after seeing these pictures! 🙂

    HOW FUN! LOVE the sea lions!! And I am so happy you got to see whales. What a thrill! Thanks for sharing pics…

  4. April 25, 2009 2:42 pm

    1. Loved the title of this post.
    2. You are never to old to wear MILLIGAN finery!
    3. You may have just planned my next vacation for me.
    4. The tongue kind of creeps me out.
    5. Your skin looks amazing.

  5. patty permalink
    April 25, 2009 8:58 pm

    I love that you love my home state!! 😉 Honestly I live in an amazing place – but we don’t like to advertise it too much, otherwise, we’ll get even more transplants than we have. But you seem like a great gal, so come on over. 😉 Did you like Powell’s Books? I saw in a previous post you went. I love that store, and I love the neighborhood that’s blossomed around it. Very tempting to go to during lunch break!!

  6. April 26, 2009 7:50 pm

    The pouty Jess is just too cute. 🙂 So glad you did indeed get to see lots of whales eventually.

    And I love the picture of Hugh at the bottom of the HUGE tree. Wow. I am sure seeing those trees in person just kind of leaves you in awe of God. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

