Skip to content

Goals for May

May 6, 2009

1. Stop lying. When my kids ask me if we can go out to eat, NO MORE MUMBLING about my lack of cash. I have cash. I just don’t want to take them out to eat.

2. Clean the house more. Possibly clean out the garage. Try not to throw bags of trash (full from cleaning the house) into the garage. Put trash bags neatly in big trash thingie.

3. Become a better wife and mother. This goal can be accomplished by more listening and less yelling.

4. Read Bible. Stop spending time on amazon.com looking for a new Bible to try to motivate me to get in the Word. Pick up one of the thirty-nine Bibles I already own and READ IT.

5. Stop eating all foods except celery and those new 10-calorie vitamin waters. Then I will look cute and this will motivate me to accomplish all my other goals.

6. Make some friends. Or, call and email the friends I already have. Explain I have a messy house and yell at my kids so I haven’t had a whole lot of time for coffee lately.

7. Hm. Stop drinking coffee. This new “caffeine-free” lifestyle will help me have whiter teeth and will save on groceries (no more half and half, creamers, filters, etc…).

8. Call mother-in-law and be nice. VERY IMPORTANT. Say things like, “It’s okay that you yelled at me a few weeks ago…You are grieving.” and “I still like you. You are nice.”

9. Finally, no more television. My Battlestar Galactica obsession has gone far enough. I need to spend more time cleaning and eating celery.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 7:54 pm

    Ummm…I honestly don’t set goals…cause I’m afraid of failure. Sooooo, if I have no goals, I can’t let myself down., right? Yeh. It’s not really workin’ for me.

    Hey….I was over at Lysa’s and couldn’t help but see your comment. I just had to smile, cause that was a favorite part of mine from the book. As in I had to e-mail her and thank her for saying that she, too, had spoken to her children about where the beavers live. 🙂 Relief flooded my soul to know that even she has slipped like that in front of her kids. I sure enough have.

    Love you and your lists.
    K

  2. Amanda McEwen permalink
    May 7, 2009 7:00 am

    I hope number 7 is a bad joke.

  3. Joy F. permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:48 pm

    I’m sorry but as obsessions go, there is nothing wrong with Battlestar Galactica and NORMAL vitamin water. It is only 40 calories per serving for the Sobe, and thus less than soda. And Battlestar is just honestly such good writing. Granted, 10 hours straight of it is probably a bit much. But remember it is MAY. Give yourself a little bit of a break. May is like the last mile of a serious marathon called the school year.

  4. trendyand2kids permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:16 pm

    Um . . . Battlestar Galactica? Dwight Schrute would be so proud!

  5. May 10, 2009 1:32 am

    Jess, you’re on my heart this evening, with Mother’s day tomorrow.. I just wanted you to know that i was thinking about and praying for you.

    I”m so glad you blog as I do reallly enjoy your “voice” Many hugs to you!

  6. May 10, 2009 6:51 pm

    Sounds like Fantasy Island. 🙂 Whatever works.

    I’m behind in my Bible reading too – would a new Bible help?? Hmmmm.

  7. May 11, 2009 12:52 pm

    Hi jess! I have very simular goals for may myself.

    Your in my prayers.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

