Skip to content

There are no dumb questions. I hope.

May 12, 2009

I love Sunday School.  For years, Hugh and I have asked each other: “Um, where are people in church who can mentor us…?  Who know more than we do about the Bible?  Who have been Christians for a while?”

I’ve discovered something.  All those Saints who have walked with Jesus a long time, rich with the wisdom that comes from living decades in a relationship with God…they were down the road at the Baptist Church teaching Sunday School.

Tom, our Sunday School teacher, knows a lot about the Bible.  When someone in class asks him a question about grace, Tom whips out his dry-erase marker, writes the Greek word for “grace” on the white board, and then gives four to five scripture references (from memory) about grace…all that completely answer the person’s question.

Tom rocks.  I wonder if he would like me saying that he rocks? Hm.

Anyway.

Yesterday Tom sent out an email to our Sunday School class challenging everyone to read the Bible all the way through.  My first thought was:  “Doesn’t he know it’s not January 1st?”  How can we start the Bible if it’s not January 1st?  There are no fun “Bible in a Year” displays set up at the Christian bookstores in MAY!”

My second thought was:
“Hm.  I’ve been thinking about reading the Bible through again.  Maybe I CAN start now.  And…well…Tom says he’ll answer any questions we have as we read.”

I have questions about the Bible.  I’ve always felt too stupid to ask anyone these questions.  I’m afraid that the asking will reveal some sort of shallow faith so I am silent.  Questions like:

1.  Okay, I don’t understand why God commanded the army to wipe out entire populations of people.  Populations that included children.  The “God knew they would grow up and kill Israelites” answer seems soft to me.  These kids hadn’t sinned yet.

2.  Why weren’t women valued in the Old Testament?  That’s horrible.  Couldn’t God have made other laws that provided more equality for women?

3.  Why was the Law in the Old Testament so complicated?  I don’t get it.

Whew.  It feels good to WRITE those out.  I’m acknowledging that I have a lot to learn about God and His Word.

I’m so excited that God has given Hugh and I a teacher who can handle my questions and lead me into a deeper understanding of the Bible.

As usual, God is being so faithful to provide for me…to give me ways and tools to draw closer to Him.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. missy permalink
    May 12, 2009 9:00 am

    I could fill a library with all the questions like that I have about the Bible! One of my favorite topics of conversation with God is “why did You….” or “I don’t understand….” or “this verse contradicts this one so how….”

    If you get any answers, I would love to hear them!

  2. May 12, 2009 9:27 am

    i have alot of questions too, and most of them are very simular to yours.

    my husband’s only question was “why aren’t dinosaurs mentioned in the bible, can you beleive in god & science?”

    I spent so much time researching and finally getting the answer to HIS question that i forgot to ask mine!

    I’d love it if you post your questions and answers as you read through the bible!

    thanks for all you do jess, and i’m praying your doctor’s appointment and tests go well today.

  3. May 12, 2009 9:58 am

    The women thing I can guess at. First, there are a LOT of women mentioned compared to historical references of the greek or roman societies, which makes the Hebrew/Jewish/Pre-Christians stand out a bit. Second, I think that God did value women, hence the commandment to honor the father AND the mother. He also gave MARY baby Jesus 😉 However, I believe that just as today, the people of God also took on some *traditions* of the people around them.

    Complicated law made it all that much more of a relief when Jesus came along. I mean if you only had to hop, skip and then jump in order to be saved then really, why even bother with Jesus? Making it complicated made it require a Saviour.

    Can I ask questions now? Hehehe!! I love to dig and dig and dig…and I always have new questions.

  4. May 12, 2009 2:53 pm

    definitely NOT dumb questions! i’d love to see Tom’s answers.

  5. May 12, 2009 3:35 pm

    my question – the folks weren’t allowed to touch the ark of the covenant…the ox pulling it stumbled, the ark slipped, the guy caught it to keep it from falling and GOD KILLED HIM. What? I know the whole “no touching rule” but really, he was trying to help.

    Hmmm, guess God is saying don’t care about your intentions…OBEY! Yikes!

  6. May 12, 2009 3:35 pm

    p.s. Don’t think I’m not waiting for your test results…and blogging about something else did not fool me into forgetting about them. *wink*

  7. May 12, 2009 11:26 pm

    Jess, I love your transparency..

  8. Janet permalink
    September 6, 2010 3:40 am

    wordpress randomly linked me to your blog and I love it already!

    Taylor K: I would love to know what you found about your research on God / dinosaurs / science!

    Chatty Kelly: Are you referring to Uzzah in 2 Sam 6:7? Even though Uzzah was trying to help, the whole setup of transporting the ark did not follow the strict guidelines that God set out – for starters, the ark was always supposed to be carried on the shoulders of Levites, not put in a cart pulled by oxen. Getting the ark back into Israelite territory was a significant spiritual beginnings, where God wanted his people (even more so, maybe) to know and follow His words.

Leave a Reply

