Skip to content

Friday…A New Plan

May 15, 2009

I’m up early.  I usually try to get an early start on Fridays, even though I don’t have school.

My “to-do” list is already crowding my brain.  Things for school, home, and family are rising up, up, up in my head.

The coffee is on, so I can read my Bible and then launch into my day.

I’ve already checked email – both personal and work accounts.  Things to do – yep.

I’m stressed and busy.  The usual.

So.

As I sit here waiting for my coffee, I’ve come to a decision.

I think I need a “soul care” day.

I need a new list for this Friday.  Instead of accomplishing a bunch of things for my life, I need to take care of myself.

Here is my list for today:

1.  Coffee and Bible for as long as I’d like….ahhhh

2.  Bath – not shower

3.  Prayer/Accountability with Amanda

4.  Read

5.  Listen

6.  Go on a walk

What if that was really all I did today?  What if I don’t focus on the cleaning, the lesson plans, the paperwork, the emails, and the thousands of other things screaming my name?

What if I take a breath today?

Starting now.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 7:11 am

    oh jess that sounds fabulous!!! do it girl take a day and do that for YOU!!!!!

  2. May 15, 2009 8:09 am

    that list sounds perfect, jess. i’m sitting here praying you do it and enjoy.

  3. May 15, 2009 8:24 am

    Amen sister. Your soul is far more important than lesson plans right now. I am so glad you got your priorities in order today. 🙂 Please enjoy your day!!

  4. May 15, 2009 9:34 am

    Oh, Jess, DO follow through on this! I hope your day turns out as beautiful as possible. “soul care” day.. I love that.. Much hugs & Love to you!!

  5. May 15, 2009 10:50 am

    YES!! If only we all took a “soul care day” every so often, wouldn’t we be happier? I’m looking forward to hearing how it goes, and how you feel, after your day. Enjoy!!

  6. May 15, 2009 12:23 pm

    What a great alternative to your original plan. I hope you really stick to it. Have an amazing day!

  7. May 15, 2009 12:29 pm

    Yay!!!!! I’m jealous! I’ll be doing this come September when I have 2 children in school.

    enjoy!

  8. May 15, 2009 2:00 pm

    Jess…just wanted you to know I’m praying for you and good test reports. Enjoy your happy Friday! Blessings…

  9. May 15, 2009 2:06 pm

    I so hope you got to have this day!

  10. Joy permalink
    May 16, 2009 5:24 am

    In my experience, the to do list never gets any shorter anyway just because you cross things off it.

    I hope your day was restorative, Jess. You needed a true sabbath. Jehovah Shalom to you.

Leave a Reply

