Skip to content

Clarifying

May 25, 2009

You know, if you go to a church that accidentally overbooks the campground for their annual family camping trip…

And the church ends up with an extra bedroom in a lovely villa…

That they offer (FOR FREE)….to you…

Should you accept…?

Leaving your husband and older two children to sleep in a tent…

While you shower twice a day and sit on the couch reading your Kindle?

I think you should.

And….

Let me clarify one thing…

This still COMPLETELY counts as camping because…

You have to eat a lot of meals outside by this fire-thingy…

And you have to go to the public bathroom a couple of times (ew)…

There are still bugs around you for a few hours each day while you are outside…

So.

Yes, MOCKERS.

THIS WAS CAMPING.

And, also…

Let me just say one more thing…

Camping? Me?

No problem.

I can totally handle camping.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

(in a villa)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sumi permalink
    May 25, 2009 9:53 pm

    Hahaha! You know what I think? I think God just ADORES you and arranged this camping trip just to spoil you. Glad you enjoyed this ‘camping’ experience.

  2. May 25, 2009 10:02 pm

    I’m with Sumi, I think God DOES adore you and the villa was proof! (BUT I thought you weren’t taking ANY technology camping? Since when is a kindle NOT technology????)

  3. Amanda McEwen permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:04 am

    I am sorry but I remain firm in my stance. You have not earned the right to claim “camping” over what you did the past few days. Until you 1. Pee in the woods or are resticted only to the nasty public restrooms which are filled with bugs, hair, stankedness. 2. Go more than 24 hours withour heat/air conditioning. 3. Eat ALL meals by the “campfire thingy”. 4. Your legs and arms dont see more than 5 minutes of fresh air without being covered in DEET.
    5. You must pick at least one tick off of you or someone in your family. 6. You must sleep in your tent not bid it farewell as you go skipping to your villa..
    And I could go on but I won’t. Congratulations on WITNESSING your first family camping trip.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love you my dear city girl.
    MAnder

  4. patty permalink
    May 26, 2009 4:44 pm

    Yikes Amanda – harsh! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m from that state you loved so much – Oregon – and I’m NO camper either!! I’m with you Jess. I do love the outdoors – hiking AND maybe camping in a nice cabin – sure – but no shower and that uhm, peeing in the woods thing and uhm, sleeping on the floor and bugs – nah, that’s what buildings and technology are for!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad to hear you had an amazing “camping” trip in luxury!!!! LOL LOL LOL That’s my kind of camping!!

  5. Helky permalink
    May 26, 2009 6:40 pm

    yey! I’m glad u enjoyed the camping!

  6. May 26, 2009 8:15 pm

    Living proof that there is a God and he loves his children He met you right where you are girlfriend. You made you children & hubs happy, and God rewarded your obedience.

    Woot!

    I hate camping the “old fashioned” way too and WILL NEVER CAMP unless I have a villa. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Karen permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:30 pm

    Rofl! I could handle THAT kind of camping! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

