Skip to content

Summer Plans

May 26, 2009

I have five more days of school. Five more days to sit in a classroom with thirteen-year-olds who are driving me completely insane because they long for summer and I won’t give it to them yet.

I told my students that I’d like to take them to a field and walk away. I wonder if that hurt their feelings?

Anyway.

Soon it will be summer – GLORIOUS summer! And I have a plan for these blessed three months.

I will do the following:

1. Start a novel. I’ve started writing a book but I keep making my main characters mentally ill. Who wants to read THAT?

2. Clean my house. What is it like to actually have a clean and organized home? It seems like a lovely, lovely dream.

3. Go to SHE SPEAKS!!!! Lest I forget, I am going to SHE SPEAKS!!! Maybe someone will help me with my “mentally ill main character” issues. Hm.

4. Lose eighty pounds. This is totally possible.

5. Be completely focused on my marriage until Hugh feels totally loved and respected.

6. Plan my entire school year.

7. Teach Jon-David and Hannajean one full year of Saxon math.

8. Make friends since I won’t be so busy with school.

9. Write on my blog every day and prove to my readers that I CARE about my blog…I am a woman of CONSISTENCY!!!

10. Read quality books. No more trashy fluff. No more US Weekly. Only things like “The Kite Runner” and “Anna Karenina”.

11. Go to my new rheumatologist and be proactive about figuring out why I have swollen joints. Make sure I don’t have a horrible disease.

Here is the super sad thing. This is a real list.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???

I need a new list.

Plans for summer:

1. Calm down.

2. The end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anya permalink
    May 26, 2009 9:07 pm

    Jess – as always, you make me smile,nod,and wish I could be as frank and real as you are. You know that even though I’m miles away, you feel like a sister. Yep, a real soul-sister. I like that. And I hope Summer lets you make lots of non-virtual friends too. Blessings, Jess, from Anya.

  2. May 27, 2009 12:54 am

    Oh, I was so relieved to see list #2 as all I could think of was how overwhelmed you were making ME with list #1 and I didn’t even have to worry about accomplishing those things!!

    Love you!

  3. Rainbow Brite permalink
    May 28, 2009 5:49 pm

    Item # 10 – I have tried to start “Anna Karenina” several times. Want to read it together?

  4. May 29, 2009 7:02 am

    #3 Stop making lists.

    Just kidding!

  5. May 29, 2009 2:18 pm

    LOL! If I had a whole 3 months off work, I’d have a list like that too.

    Or my list might just say “sleep in every day”.

Leave a Reply

