Skip to content

Messy

May 28, 2009

“Jesus does not say, ‘Come to me, all you who have learned how to concentrate in prayer, whose minds no longer wander, and I will give you rest.’ No, Jesus opens his arms to his needy children and says, ‘Come to me, all who are weary and heaven-laden, and I will give you rest.’

The criteria for coming to Jesus is messiness. Come overwhelmed with life. Come with your wandering mind. Come messy.”

—Paul Miller, A Praying Life (Colorado Springs, CO: NavPress 2009), 31-32

*With thanks to firstimportance.org and my husband for the thought today…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 9:38 am

    Thank you. I love that.

    Today is a day of laying an exhausted, messy me at His beautiful feet.

    Taking what you posted and tucking it in my pocket to keep.

  2. May 28, 2009 11:40 am

    I LOVE THIS QUOTE!!!!!!!!!!!

    thank you!

  3. Patty permalink
    May 28, 2009 11:42 am

    Thank you for that quote! Today I’m am exhausted and heavy laden – but all of a sudden I feel a little better remembering I can lay at His feet for rest. 😉

  4. Karen permalink
    May 28, 2009 9:33 pm

    Thank God for the truth of this. 🙂

  5. Dawna permalink
    May 30, 2009 7:34 am

    Hey, thanks! Been struggling with this lately!

Leave a Reply

