Skip to content

R is for Rabbit

June 4, 2009

I sat in my recliner last night with a pile of cards and gifts from my students and decided that this school year was worth it. Hard, yes. Stretching, yes. Exhausting, yes.

But worth it.

Here are excerpts from some of my favorite cards:

“Dear Mrs. Hopper, You have been an inspiration to me this year. You are fun, outgoing, and an amazing teacher…”

“…I really appreciate all you have done for me this year. Even though this was a hard year for me, you did not get mad at me and really encouraged me. You are an amazing teacher…”

“…You are my favorite teacher ever!…”

“…I like being able to write and like what I’ve written. Thank you for teaching me how to write!…”

And, of course, the wonderful anagram:

H – Honest (not really, but thanks, X.)
O – OMG, You’re Awesome!!! (Using the Lord’s name in vain. Oops.)
P – Perfect (Heh. Heh. Heh.)
P – Productive (Why is he telling me this?)
E – Energetic (Yeah! I’ve hidden my extreme fatigue and pain from my kids!)
R – Rabbit (I have nothing to say about this. This makes no sense in the deepest way.)

In addition to all my fun cards, the parents got me a big ol’ Visa gift card. Hugh says I should give it to him to offset the hundreds of dollars I’ve spent out of my own pocket in my classroom this year. I asked him if I could keep it and buy whatever I want…

He said…Of course.

So I think I’m going to spend the day rereading my cards and looking online at amazon.com for new books to buy.

What a lovely day. Summer’s here – Just in time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Joy permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:25 am

    woo hoo! We made it! Maybe he meant rabbi? 😉

  2. June 4, 2009 10:51 am

    “Summer’s here – Just in time!” No.doubt.

  3. June 4, 2009 12:13 pm

    “…I like being able to write and like what I’ve written. Thank you for teaching me how to write!…”

    I love that one. I love that you get to see where you have passed on a love that you have.

    Have fun shopping! My husband still teases me about how long it took me to spend the gift card I won from you. I’m funny like that. I wanted to spend it slowly and carefully….really enjoy it. And I did. 🙂

    Blessings, friend.
    K

  4. Rainbow Brite permalink
    June 4, 2009 12:44 pm

    WOO-HOO!!!

  5. June 4, 2009 2:54 pm

    How sweet!

    Rabbits hop…so hopper=rabbit? lol

  6. Karen permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:37 pm

    Awww….

    I like Tara’s explanation. 🙂

    Happy summer! Praying for you!

  7. June 5, 2009 1:37 pm

    tara said what i was going to say. so did karen. so ditto to their comments.

Leave a Reply

