Skip to content

Bookee

June 17, 2009

I tried to write four different funny posts and was completely unable to come up with anything.  Surely I’ll feel funny later.  I could go and look and my face in a mirror – tired, currently broken out, and surrounded by limp hair – and maybe then I’d laugh.

Ha. Ha.

But in the midst of my creative drought, I saw this post about books on Marybeth’s blog, and I decided to post my answers to the questions here.

Here goes…

THE COOL READING QUESTION THINGY I SAW ON MARYBETH’S BLOG (and, um, the answers are mine…not Marybeth’s…):

1. What author do you own the most books by?  George MacDonald.  I heart George – even if no one knows who he is…

2. What book do you own the most copies of?  The Bible.  Of Course.

3. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?  Mr. Darcy. Of course.

4. What book have you read the most times in your life?  The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot.  Love.

5. Favorite book as a ten year old? Sadly, I read V.C. Andrews as a ten-year old.  Her books were dark and disturbing tales of 1ncest and murder.  I wish I could say something more cheerful, but there it is.

6. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year? Oh, ugh.  Twilight was just awful.  Half of my girl students were in love with the series and so I read the first book over Christmas. It was painful to get through – possibly because there was no plot or character development.

7. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year? In the Middle by Nancy Atwell – It’s an education book that really influenced my teaching. She taught me how to bring writing and reading ALIVE to my students.

8. If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be? People shouldn’t be forced to read books.

9. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?  Dante’s Inferno.  I kept telling people in college that I “totally got it” and “wow, this book is amazing.” But I didn’t get it.  Something about circles of hell, I don’t know.

10. What are you reading right now? I am rereading The Christy Miller series by Robin Jones Gunn because it makes me happy and not depressed. I read them as a young Christian and loved them. It was either Christy Miller or Gossip Girl yesterday at Barnes and Noble…I decided against Gossip Girl because I need to get closer to Jesus.

Oooooooh! Answer the questions!! That would be fun!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 10:52 pm

    Atwell is great – anything she’s written you can get yours hands on is worth it. I’ve found that even if I don’t actually use everything (or anything!) she still inspires me to simply have a better attitude when it comes to teaching writing and reading.

  2. Rainbow Brite permalink
    June 18, 2009 7:00 am

    I, too, had to read ‘Dante’s Inferno’ for a class in college. And THEN, I was suppose to write a paper on it. Instead, I turned in my own version of it – “Saved by the Bell Hell.” Let’s just say that one of the circles of hell involved the “eternal swirly.” I got an “A,” and the professor read it to the entire class.

  3. June 18, 2009 7:10 am

    Oh! I just LOVE the Christy Miller books! Even though I’m almost 30 they are still some of my favorite books 🙂 I should probably pick them up again. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. June 18, 2009 8:53 am

    Jess, have I told you how much I love you lately? I’m not going to answer the questions becuase it would be just embarassing (I don’t read much lately.. Iused to consider myself an avid reader..). I sure enjoyed reading YOUR answers though!

  5. June 18, 2009 11:56 am

    I love your answers! I agree with you on Dante’s Inferno…a book we read in 11th grade English.

    I put my answers on my blog. 🙂 Fun! 🙂

  6. diane permalink
    June 19, 2009 10:01 am

    Jess-
    My daughter loves Christie Miller- she just re-read them for maybe the hundredth time. I’m glad that she’s in good company. I ‘d like to borrow In the Middle sometime.

  7. June 19, 2009 11:19 pm

    *raises hand* I know George Mac Donald! Have Lilith on my bedstand! Love, love, love Sir Gibbie. Cried like a baby.

    (haven’t been great at commenting lately, Jess… but wanted you to know I pray for ya all the time)

  8. June 20, 2009 8:56 pm

    I also read all the VC Andrews book when I was young. They’re all about 1ncest too. GROSS. Why did my mother let me read them. Ewww.

    I love to read, and my daughter loves reading too, but I keep close tabs on what she is reading. She’ll be 10 in August.

Leave a Reply

