Skip to content

Six Pounds

June 28, 2009

Hugh and I ended up staying two nights in Greensboro because:

1. We have the best babysitter on the planet. “Stay another night,” she said as we were leaving. “Sounds like it’s going to be a full day on Saturday.” I love you, Beth!

2. Hugh decided to be spontaneous and get us a room at one of the most fun hotels I’ve ever stayed in. The O. Henry Hotel has great rooms, gives copies of O. Henry’s short stories away to each guest, and has a killer hot breakfast.

After two nights away from my children and home, I am returning to life completely reconnected to my husband – something that hasn’t happened since April.

The only difficult part of my weekend was trying to stay faithful to my anti-inflammation diet. I actually missed my kitchen full of organic fruits and vegetables. As soon as we got in the door, I ran over and grabbed an organic rice cake.

What’s happened to me?

I live for animal fat and processed sugar, right? Yet I longed for soy creamer in my coffee this morning. And whole wheat bread instead of sugary pastries. I even thought about asking our waiter if they had Stevia for my Irish Oatmeal.

Somehow over the last few weeks I have learned to enjoy making healthy eating choices. I am so stunned…wondering how this is possible…and I hesitate to even type the words out.

Being sick creates a lot of motivation to make drastic lifestyle changes. All of a sudden, the usual “Ben and Jerry’s because I had a hard day” or “loaded baked potato because I have a crush on cheese”  meals have lost a lot of appeal.

Now I want to be healthy more than I want to enjoy foods without restriction.

Someone told me recently that the best way to live a long time is to get a chronic illness. “You just start caring about your health.”

They were right – and this weekend showed me that I care about healthy eating even when it is difficult.

Now I’m off to go have another bowl of Spinach Pasta with Feta.

Yum-o!

p.s. the title of this post comes from HOW MUCH WEIGHT I HAVE LOST SINCE I CUT OUT PROCESSED SUGAR AND ANIMAL FAT FROM MY DIET. Yippee!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 11:25 pm

    Congrats,Jess, six pounds is great!.. but even better, you’re starting to feel better AND reconnected to your husband is AWESOME! I’m So glad!

  2. Creekwader permalink
    June 29, 2009 6:31 pm

    I can identify with you, sista!

  3. Joy F. permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:25 pm

    That picture almost makes healthy food look good. Almost. But not quite. I’m proud of you too. And a bit jealous. I keep putting the same few pounds back on the moment I lose them.

Leave a Reply

