Skip to content

She Freaks ’09

July 28, 2009

She Speaks Button

Things to do before I leave for She Speaks:

1. Hide computer so Hugh can’t look at my amazon.com account when I’m gone… and see all the books I’ve ordered recently

2. Shave legs/wax lip

3. Buy jeans that make me look 1238 pounds THINNER

4. Also buy Crest White Strips so that I can smile and totally DAZZLE people with my white teeth

5. Write some extremely brilliant blog posts. When I meet other bloggers, they will say, “Oh, I simply must check out your blog, you thin-gleaming-toothed woman.”  I’ll say, “Of course!” – and give them my site knowing they will be WOWED by my incredible writing ability

6. Stop worrying about my unknown roommate hating me because I snore – EW!

7.  Develop self-discipline over feelings of inadequacy/insecurities because people at conference are cuter than me

8. Try and relax – possibly read a fun History book about Francis Perkins (FDR’s Labor Secretary…This is GOOD STUFF, People…Wow. I’m very boring.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 2:44 am

    Let’s just say that I can identify with pretty much all you have written here! Let’s get together! I can’t wait to get to meet you.

    You do know that you have been used by God to help me get to the point where I could be transparent with what I have been going through, on my blog???!!!

    God has used you to bless me. Before you were diagnosed with RA, and after, and through… you have made me laugh, and made me cry, and made me wonder at how God gets us through all the junk in our lives.

    Love you and pray that you have good travels there, and back, and a wonderful, God blessed time while you are there. I pray that God ministers to you, and Jess, expect great things from Him…. whether you see it or not even after the conference. That’s what my friend told me…. to expect great things…. no matter what my eyes, or feelings, may see.

    Love you!
    Heather

  2. July 29, 2009 6:30 am

    Jenn,

    I’ve only just begun to read your blog, but I can say that your words have spoken to my heart. Everything you’ve said in this post, I’ve been thinking myself… except for the snoring part. I tend to mumble instead. But, ya know, I keep telling myself that I am God’s. That I am dearly loved and accepted by Him and He thinks wonderful things about me. I know He thinks the same things about you!

    And about others being cuter than you… I think you are C-U-T-E! And that was [so not] a come on. Hee!

    I hope I get to meet you!

  3. July 29, 2009 6:32 am

    And you know, you shouldn’t have to worry about anything… it will be me getting peoples names wrong left and right!! I’m so sorry. I knew it was Jess… bad fingers!

  4. July 29, 2009 3:40 pm

    OK, I have to meet you. You have made me laugh out loud, and I am truly one who is trying to change mourning into dancing.

    Thank you for your outlook on life!

    She Freaks 09 attendee!!

    Tammy Nischan

  5. July 29, 2009 10:15 pm

    One thing that you MUST do prior to She Speaks. You will need business cards with your name, blog address, and email address to exchange with the other bloggers at the conference. You can get them done very quickly at some place like Kinkos. They are a life-saver to have.

    You’ll have a fabulous time; just go and enjoy yourself!

  6. Sumi permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:56 am

    Ugh I am so jealous. I’d love to be freakin’ at She Speaks about right now. 🙂

  7. August 2, 2009 6:21 pm

    Jess, I don’t remember how your teeth looked, but you dazzled with me your sweet spirit and kind smile. It was so nice to meet you.

    And, sister, if you find jeans that can make us look 1000 pounds thinner, please for the love of all that’s denim, share the good news! 😉

  8. August 3, 2009 10:11 am

    Ok, you are completly hill air e ous!

  9. Sherry permalink
    August 4, 2009 5:03 pm

    Hey Jess,
    My fear of there only being one bed and lying awake all night afraid to turn over, for fear of waking my roommate up, and your fear of snoring and keeping your roomate awake must have negated each other, and made God laugh (I hope). Isn’t it funny how our imaginations run wild when we’re put out of our comfort zones. I so enjoyed getting to know you, and getting to be your roommate. It was a weekend of respite in the midst of a busy life. I look forward to keeping up with you on your blog.

Leave a Reply

