Skip to content

How Big are Blue Whales?

August 15, 2009

He is eight years old.   He wanders sleepily into the kitchen where I stand, making my ritual morning cup of coffee.  I am planning to curl up on the couch with my Bible and oversized mug, drinking in the silence of the early morning once again.

He rubs his eyes.  His GAP shirt is wrinkled.  Giving me a small smile, he asks, “Where are the girls?”

“Still sleeping,” I say.  I head to the couch, then pause.

My quiet morning time calls out to me, but maybe…

“Jon-David, do you want me to make you breakfast?”

I never do this.  I usually fling frozen waffles at my three children, determined to blast through my morning routine as quickly as possible.  I can’t remember the last time I sat down with my first-born.

His eyes widen. “Um..yes.”

I pour the chocolate milk.  I get out a muffin.  I fill a small glass of fresh orange juice.  We walk together towards the living room.

I move my Prayer Basket off the cushions.  Silently I pray, “God, I think I need time with my boy.”

We sit.  Jon-David carefully eats his muffin and then starts to talk.

What will third grade be like?

How big are blue whales?

Why does Daddy stay up late reading so much?

Will Ben be in his class this year?

I listen. I drink my coffee. I touch his small arm.

We sit together for over an hour; talking, laughing, and drinking.  We decide blue whales are amazing.  We discuss the books he wants to read.  We decide that third grade will be great.

All too soon, his sisters wake up.  He grabs his muffin wrapper and goes upstairs to find a book about whales.

I watch his small retreating back.  I want to call him back.

But tomorrow we can sit together again, laughing and wondering.

I am struck with the realization that it’s easy being his mother.  He just wants time with me.

And that is easy to give, after all.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 5:59 pm

    in it’s way, this is just as beautiful as your other recent description of your morning. of course our Father understands and loves the time we spend with our kids.

  2. August 15, 2009 10:48 pm

    How wonderful. I wonder how many times I miss out on those things. Tonight we took the kids to a nearby park that has a beach. We grilled out there, and just had a fun time.
    At the very end, a doe and her fawn came out of the woods nearby and I crept closer with the camera to try to get some photos. Dave and my son went with some pretzels to get closer to them, and were able to feed them (get them within about 4 ft of them). Then I took my daughter and a handful of pretzels (they liked the salt I think) and we were able to get really close to them too.

    The kids were just enthralled with it. And we got to have a really good snuggle time on the couch before bed too. All in all, though I woke up incredibly crabby and frustrated and angry at everyone, God changed the day around and made the ending much better than the beginning!

    Love you! And thanks for coming back to read. I think i have been making more friends via blogs since She Speaks, than I actually met at the conference! Just by doing searches and following links on comments from one blog to another!!!!

    Heather

  3. August 16, 2009 1:42 pm

    Girl, that scene you just painted… priceless. Especially when you said you touched his little arm. *sigh* God gives us those perfect moments, I believe, to show how He longs for the same thing with us, ya know.

    I pray you have many more mornings like this one and your Candle-scented one from the other day.

  4. August 16, 2009 5:25 pm

    My boy starts his senior year tomorrow. His older sister will be getting married in a little over four months. As I read this, my heart was whispering (or maybe screaming), “take the time. It goes so fast.” I’m glad you took the moment and I wish you many more…

  5. August 16, 2009 8:30 pm

    What a perfect, beautiful scene. I love those quiet moments with my daughter. They don’t happen as often as they should, perhaps, but that makes them even more special 🙂
    You have such a beautiful way with words!! Your blog (and encouraging comments) are such blessing to me!!!
    I hope you have a fabulous start to your week tomorrow 🙂
    love,
    Val

  6. August 16, 2009 9:12 pm

    wow, i needed to be reminded of this. Next time when my son wakes me up early i think i’ll make him breakfast instead of trying to distract him with other things so i can get a few more minutes of sleep before my busy day starts.

  7. August 17, 2009 10:54 am

    Jess,
    What a beautiful picture of a sweet time together.

    I was reminded of when my 18 year old was a young one, too. We used to go to Starbucks on Friday mornings before pre-school. We stopped doing that when his brother came into the picture. And he also learned to fend for himself in the mornings. I didn’t even have the strength to get up and fling him a waffle. We did have a chance to do the Starbucks thing again the morning of his last day of Senior year in high school. Sigh. Don’t let these days pass by – they go so quickly.

    {Thanks for the encouragement you left for me. It’s nice to know I’m not alone.}

    Have a blessed day!
    ~T

  8. August 17, 2009 2:53 pm

    This one could make me cry. It’s all too easy to get caught up in our day-to-day that we miss the MINUTES we have we our children. One day they’ll be grown and gone. I need to remind myself, as you have here, to cherish those moments together.

    BEAUTIFULLY written!!!!!!!!!!

    And isn’t it amazing, that we (you & me) can be excellent moms when we had no training. So kudos to you girl!

  9. August 17, 2009 7:09 pm

    This is so beautiful, especially in contrast with me just now screaming at my kids. Sigh. I’m so happy you could take the moment and enjoy it! I need to try this too…

Leave a Reply

