Skip to content

Tuesday Terms

August 18, 2009

1.  Migraine.  Today I have the kind of migraine that makes me dream about taking off my head and kicking it across the floor.  Then I realize that removing my head from my body…would actually really hurt.

2.  War. I’ve been watching Ken Burn’s Civil War Documentary again.  Which is kind of worse than the migraine.  I love me some good Ken Burns, but WAR IS SAD.  After watching for a while, I get all profound about war and ask Hugh questions like:

“What does it mean to be an American, Hugh?”

“What defines our Nation, Babe?”

It totally drives him crazy.

3.  Cheez. I’ve been busy eating processed foods.  I was eating greens and whole grains.  Then I started getting ready for the school year.  Now I’m back to eating Cheez-its and processed lunch meat.

Sigh.

4.  Bloggy. I’ve been spending more time lately reading blogs instead of writing on my blog.  Here are some of my current favorite blogs:

Chelsey (Love her. You would love her, too. She inspires me to be better.)

Lysa (Yeah, of course.  You probably already read her blog.  But go read it again.  Because she makes me laugh and she’s so real and I love her.)

5.  Schoolish.  I’m attempting to get ready for the school year.  This means I stare numbly at my pile of books and then I call Joy to complain that I don’t really remember how to teach anything.

6.  Distracted. The purpose of my blog is to write about the things Jesus is showing me.  Well, I’m sure He is talking BUT I CAN’T HEAR HIM BECAUSE I AM TOTALLY DISTRACTED WHEN I PRAY.

Example:

Jess  (sitting in prayer chair, Bible open): ” Oh, Lord…Thank you for this morning.  I wonder what I need to do today…? Hm…I should check my email.  I’ll go make coffee…Hold on, God.”

What are your Tuesday Terms?

(Please don’t say “cheez”.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 3:19 pm

    I totally feel you on processed foods. How come my #1 pregnancy craving right now has to be Kroger brand macaroni-and-cheese in a box? I mean, they do have a variety of flavors, such as three cheese and white cheddar (which is my favorite), but really? Every day for lunch?

    All that aside, thanks for mentioning my blog! I feel like I read blogs more than I write, too, so I’m honored that you think I’m worth reading!

  2. Rainbow Brite permalink
    August 18, 2009 4:07 pm

    Panic. Insomnia. Stress. I don’t like these words, but that is what my life has come down to these days.

  3. August 18, 2009 6:54 pm

    DISCOURAGED by the messy house! IN-LOVE with my 11-day-old son. IMPRESSED by my 2 & 3 year old boys. SLEEPY, EXPECTING TOO MUCH OF MYSELF, & THIRSTY for my morning quiet-times again. BABYMOONING.

    I haven’t been able to visit much lately, and it made me happy to come lastnight and catch up. Thank you for sharing your life, you inspire!

  4. August 18, 2009 7:09 pm

    Girl, you are precious. Seriously. I love the way you pen your thoughts!

  5. August 18, 2009 9:52 pm

    My Tuesday words:
    1. Decoupage: more on me than the canvas I was “making art” with
    2. Coffee: I reallllllly want some good Starbucks today, but better not since I haven’t slept in about 3 days
    3. Tired: see #2
    4. Quiet Time: You see, I’ve been meaning to do that all day, but it’s been too loud. Maybe if I call it loud time? But that would defeat the purpose…
    5. SIGH. Just SIGH.

  6. August 18, 2009 11:22 pm

    Tired. Staying up too late, and still not finishing.
    Overwhelmed. See num. 1. Plus school starts Monday and I don’t even have my schedule yet :/ And my room’s a mess.
    Failure. Eating too much. Nary a workout in sight.

    Gah-I hate Tuesdays!

  7. August 19, 2009 7:32 am

    You know your prayers sound like mine. Does that mean we’re high energy and have a hard time sitting still, or does it mean that we have a hard time with the vunerability of parental authority…even God.

    Wow, was that deep, and I haven’t had my coffee yet. It’s Wed morning, but my Tuesday word would be BIRTHDAY because my daughter turned 10 yesterday. It was a great day.

    And yes, I already read Lysa’s blog. 🙂

  8. Sherlyn Medlin permalink
    August 19, 2009 11:51 am

    Comment # 5 and # 6 has the tears rolling down my face as I laugh – I can relate! =)

Leave a Reply

