Skip to content

Remembering August 21, 1999

August 21, 2009

I remember we both looked so young.  Your beard needed a trim.  We weren’t nervous at all, Hugh.

I remember my stepfather did not show up for our wedding rehearsal.  The common story of my childhood – another absent father.  Then Gary came up to me and said, “Jess, if John doesn’t come, I would be honored to walk you down the aisle tomorrow.”

I remember your mother wore pants to our wedding. I was certain this was a silent message of disapproval. Your parents cringed at the thought of us marrying in college. But we couldn’t wait, Hugh.

I remember the first night we spent together in the Jonesboro Bed and Breakfast.  I took a bath in the claw-foot tub before nervously putting on my new Victoria’s Secret robe.  I remember touching you without holding back. Finally.

I remember watching Blue’s Clues on our Honeymoon.  Later, we walked up and down the streets of Gatlinburg, buying inexpensive souvenirs.  You called me your wife to someone in a store and I felt electricity shoot through my body.  Not “girlfriend”. Not “fiancee”.

Wife.

I remember becoming your wife ten years ago today, Hugh. You are the best man I know. It’s an honor to live by your side every day, living and laughing and loving together.

Happy 10th Anniversary, Hugh.

I adore you.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin H permalink
    August 21, 2009 3:27 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Jess! I wish I’d have known sooner, I could have called Delilah and arranged a little something special for ya, perhaps some BoyzIIMen.

  2. August 21, 2009 3:33 pm

    Happy 10th Anniversary! Thank you for painting a picture of your wedding day. Wishing you more years of solid, marital, God-blessed bliss.

  3. August 21, 2009 4:26 pm

    Happy Anniversary to you both (with wishes for no woolly mammoths in the future)!

  4. August 21, 2009 4:27 pm

    Girl! HAPPY HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! I hope you guys have a blessed day.

    Are you, or did you do anything special?
    I love the way you wrote this post. So personal. So intimate. So [real]!

  5. August 21, 2009 4:31 pm

    Congrats on the Anniversary! Thanks for the little peak into your wedding day. 🙂 Ya’ll do something fun to celebrate!

  6. August 21, 2009 5:04 pm

    CONGRATS JESS & HUGH! 🙂

  7. August 21, 2009 6:34 pm

    Happy Anniversary!! 🙂 What great memories!

  8. Sherry permalink
    August 21, 2009 6:37 pm

    Hey Jess,
    I’m just back to read your blog again, and am enjoying getting to know you more through it. Your words encourage me. Thank you for sharing your heart.

  9. Michelle permalink
    August 22, 2009 10:28 am

    Jess,

    Happy Anniversary!

  10. August 22, 2009 2:03 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Jess (& Hugh)!. Thank you for sharing this.

  11. August 22, 2009 4:18 pm

    Happy 10th!!!!! What an awesome occasion. I hope you have many many more anniversary’s to come 🙂

  12. August 22, 2009 5:46 pm

    Happy 10 yrs Jess…..and many many more!!! Blessings!!

  13. karen permalink
    August 22, 2009 6:07 pm

    Since this is a day late, I hope you enjoyed your day! God bless the next 10 years! 🙂

  14. August 22, 2009 9:04 pm

    Love this! It is so beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

  15. August 23, 2009 6:22 pm

    Happy Day Jess! What a tender, beautiful, reflective post. I love your writing.

    And thanks for the linky love the other day. You made me smile sweet sister!!!

  16. August 23, 2009 9:19 pm

    Happy sigh. 🙂
    Happy Anniversary, Jess!!!!
    Love,
    Your friend who is also wife to a man with a beard

    (and thanks so much for your comment. made my day!)

  17. Nic permalink
    August 24, 2009 12:30 pm

    Happy Anniversary. And you misspelled “remeMbering”. 😉

Leave a Reply

