Skip to content

Not. Ready. Yet.

August 24, 2009

Dear Summer,

Please come back.

I wasn’t ready to get up this morning. I don’t want to wear khaki pants and a “trying to be trendy” shirt instead of shorts and a t-shirt. I don’t want to get in my car and listen to NPR for twenty minutes on the way to school this morning.

No.

I want to sit and pray without watching the clock. Then I want to watch The Disney Channel for two hours with my kids. These are the children who have not changed out of pajamas all summer. Or brushed their teeth.

I want to read cookbooks called “Five Hundred Ways to Cook With Okra” and sip vitamin waters on my couch with the AC blasting from every vent.

I want to go to the Farmer’s Market and buy raisin scones. I want to read, read, read, read, and read again.

Don’t you see, Summer? I still have a lot to do. I have a lot to “not” do, too.

So. If you could linger for another two or three weeks…Or even just a day or two…

I would be really grateful.

With love,

Jess

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 8:05 am

    I gave you a blog award! Come see. 🙂 http://www.strivingfor31.com

  2. August 24, 2009 8:06 am

    I gave you a blog award… come see! 🙂 Happy first day of school… hang in there!

    http://www.strivingfor31.com

  3. August 24, 2009 8:14 am

    Oh, yes, Summer. Please come back. Pretty please with a cup of Starbucks to boot.

  4. August 24, 2009 9:51 am

    Oh, how you bless my heart. Feeling discouraged today, this post… and I don’t know why, just makes me smile. Thanks for that!

  5. August 24, 2009 10:23 am

    Summer is nice. I enjoy vacation so much! I’m glad there’s someone out there that is feeling the angst of Fall!

  6. Rainbow Brite permalink
    August 24, 2009 11:02 am

    did you remember that you love teaching today?

  7. August 24, 2009 8:15 pm

    I don’t know why, but now I am singing “Summer Loving” from Grease. Join me?

    “Summer loving, had me a blast, summer loving, happened so fast!”

    Yup, it does that.

    Honestly I’m ready for school to start. I like the routine of things. I hope you’ll get into the swing too! You are so stylin’ in your khaki pants and trendy shirt. Go girl!

  8. August 24, 2009 10:16 pm

    I’m with ya! My hubby went back today too, he’s a music teacher…..the summer went by way too fastly!!!
    Blessings to you thru another year, can’t wait to see what else God has in store for you friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

