Skip to content

Labor Day Weekend. Yuck.

September 6, 2009

The day we buried Hugh’s father, his family shattered. Hours after the funeral, his mother screamed at Hugh – accusations filling the now-empty farmhouse.

It took me a while to forgive D. She hurt my man and I wanted to hurt her for a long time. But, because of my love for Christ and for my husband, I chose to forgive.

But forgiving my mother-in-law hasn’t made me trust her. I am cautious in her presence, rarely laughing. I sit silently while she talks about things I don’t understand. I don’t hug her anymore.

On Friday, she called from the road. “I’m twenty minutes outside Charlotte,” she said. I freaked out and frantically tried to clean my house.

I was really looking forward to a four-day weekend with my husband and children. Instead, tension has filled my home since Friday. I haven’t gotten any of my work done for school and my house is a total pit.

I don’t really have a point in this post. Just that…well, sometimes life is hard. Relationships are tough – and death affects families long after the funeral. I wonder if I will ever hug my mother-in-law again? Will I ever laugh with her? How do I trust her?

I don’t know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Mander :) permalink
    September 6, 2009 1:41 pm

    I’ve been praying for you. Give it time. YOU may not be able to hug her, but CHRIST in you will.
    Love you BF.

  2. September 6, 2009 7:13 pm

    You can hug her without trusting her. Trust is earned. Love…isn’t. So give her a big hug and tell her “have a safe trip home!” (hint, hint.) *Grin*

  3. September 6, 2009 9:18 pm

    I can’t give you any words or advise, but I can pray for you girl. Love her, inspite of herself because Jesus lives in you. I know you have a [big] heart, Jess. Things will happen in time. Be patient with yourself.

  4. Rainbow Brite permalink
    September 7, 2009 6:59 pm

    i am proud of your progress. it’s always one small step at a time. sometimes a tiny, itsy-bitsy step at a time. but, that is all it takes to move forward.

Leave a Reply

