Skip to content

The Smell of Burnt Cheez-it

September 19, 2009

008

Today my six-year-old daughter did the following things:

1. She hammered nails into the carpet.

Bang! Bang! Bang! Finally, Hugh shouted up the stairs, “Is everything o-kay?”

There was a pause. Then, her tiny little voice called out:

“It’s me, Daddy. I was just hammering a little bit.”

2. She played outside in the rain.

Even though she has a horrible cold and we’ve been trying to keep her rested, she crept outside – barefoot – and started swinging.

“But I’m wearing my raincoat!” she told us, pointing to last year’s Winter Ski Coat.  (See above picture for a time when it actually fit.)

3. She microwaved a Cheez-it.

There is no smell more nasty than microwaved Cheez-it. Don’t try to find out, people. Just trust me.

She attempted to hide the burnt cracker in the trash, but I found it later.

It looked exactly how you might expect a burnt Cheez-it to look.

For such a sick little girl, my daughter had quite a day. She is fearless, joyful, and always full of ideas.

I’m pretty much completely in love with her – Cheez-it and all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 12:07 am

    I’m guessing it’s the age because my son has burned a piece of bread and a hot dog in our microwave. Trust me, those are bad smells. I am pretty sure he can single-handely destroy the house within minutes. Oh, and the other day he was being a ninja and kicked a hole in the bathroom door (and we rent our house).

  2. Mander permalink
    September 20, 2009 5:44 am

    Oh how I LOVE that girl ;). Give her a squeeze from Aunt Mander

  3. Erin H permalink
    September 20, 2009 7:38 am

    Gosh…all that and it snowed at your house, too! That was quite a day!

  4. September 20, 2009 12:27 pm

    Hammering, weather appropriate fashion, cooking…surely there’s a Do It Yourself TV show for her somewhere in all of that. 😉

    Hope she feels better soon!

  5. September 20, 2009 3:00 pm

    You know what this story makes me think of? How God must feel when he looks at me and sees me doing that kind of thing…and he loves me anyway. 🙂

  6. September 21, 2009 5:58 am

    I have to agree with Kelly. That is so true!!

Leave a Reply

