Skip to content

Number Ten

September 24, 2009

TO DO THIS WEEK:

1. Pray
2. Shower
3. Talk to family at least once a day
4. Lesson Plan
5. Brush Teeth
6. Make Class Website
7. Examine roots in mirror, wonder if I have grey hairs at 32
8. Eat foods not on Anti-inflammation diet
9. Blog

This past weekend I created a class website for my students.

My brain – already pretty small – was totally consumed with making the site user-friendly and full of great links.

I’m happy with the site, but the project has left me little time for other things – like blogging.

Ugh.

I woke up this morning determined to write something. Anything, really.

I talk to my students about the importance of writing every day, but I haven’t been doing it in my own life.

High school students can smell inauthenticity from about twelve miles away.  If I don’t value reading and writing, how can I tell them to read and write?

So…Dumped out words, messy posts, half-formed poems…Whatever it takes, I must carve out time to write.

Hopefully some of it will be good. After all, I’d guess you read my blog hoping I’ll have something to say.

But even if the writing isn’t good, I’ll keep at it. In spite of website projects and long “to-do” lists, I’ll make the time to read and write.

And I’ll become more than a teacher who writes.

I’ll be a writer who teaches.

10.  Make time to live out what I teach in the classroom

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 11:30 am

    I’ll borrow your Number 10 and change “in the classroom” to “at home.”

  2. September 24, 2009 4:15 pm

    I ditto, Grace.

    You’re right… we’ll keep reading whatever you post!

  3. September 24, 2009 7:03 pm

    hey jess… in response to your number 7 – i am only 24 and have had gray hair for about 2 years now. (i am also going bald) so even if you do happen to have gray hair don’t worry about it. its natural and beautiful!

    and… i will always read your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

