Skip to content

The Conversation at Our House Tonight

October 3, 2009

Jess: Lucy, can I talk to you about the birthday party today?

Lucy: Mmm-hmm.

Jess: I noticed that P kept coming up to you and trying to give you hugs. Did you like that?

Lucy (sliding down on the floor and hiding her face): No.

Jess: What, Sweetie? I can’t hear you.

Lucy: I didn’t like it.

Hugh (from the couch, mouthing to me over Lucy’s head): I am going to punch P in the gut.

Jess (ignoring Hugh): Lucy, I want you to know something. It’s really, really important.

Lucy: What?

Jess: If someone touches you and you don’t like it, you can yell. Kay? In a loud voice, you can say that “I DON’T LIKE THAT. STOP IT.”

Lucy (looking worried): What if I forget, Mommy?

Jess: Well, let’s practice, okay? Say, “STOP.”

Lucy: Stop.

Jess: Louder, Honey. It’s okay to be loud.

Lucy: STOP!

Jess: Great…

Lucy (continuing): STOP TOUCHING ME. I DON’T LIKE IT. STOP IT.

Jess (giving knuckles to Lu): Excellent, Baby Girl! That’s right.

Lucy (walking out of the room, softly to herself): Stop it…I don’t like it…

Hugh (looking over): I still want to take that kid out. But I’m proud of her, you know. She’s so shy sometimes.

Jess: I know. That’s why we have to let her know that it’s okay to be loud, especially when it comes to setting boundaries about her body.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 1:15 pm

    I’m with Hugh, let’s punch P out. But important conversation. Good show, Jess!

  2. Aunt Mander :) permalink
    October 4, 2009 6:06 pm

    LEMME AT EM’!!!

  3. October 4, 2009 7:15 pm

    that one’s super-important, and you handled it really well. let’s get hugh a shot gun to clean when your girls bring perspective dates home in however many years.

  4. October 4, 2009 7:15 pm

    Wow… great use of a terribly important teachable moment!!!!

    So important!
    Way to go mom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

