Skip to content

Rain

October 5, 2009

“You heavens above, rain down righteousness; let the clouds shower it down. Let the earth open wide, let salvation spring up, let righteousness grow with it; I, the LORD, have created it.”

-Isaiah 45:8

I woke up this Monday morning to my favorite thing:

Cool, steady, gray rain outside my window.

I lived in Seattle for most of my childhood and the rain became a part of my heart. Rain comforts me. Rain makes me feel secure and cozy. Rain makes me think about homemade chicken chili and playing board games with my children.

Rain is also an excuse for long-sleeved, heavy sweaters – hiding my imperfections. Maybe if I bundle up enough, I’ll look like I did in high school. Either that, or I’ll look like the Pillsbury dough boy.

Rain means I will light scented candles as I get ready for school. Rain means I won’t wear sunglasses today.

Rain slows me down.

If you live in Charlotte, look outside this morning. Maybe you normally hate the rain, but today… let it wash over you. Listen to it. Look at the way it changes the sky. Make soup. Put on a sweater.

Let the rain slow you down, too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 9:15 am

    Aww, this post made me want to cry. I feel the same way about rain. Sadly, we never get rain here. Well, maybe once or twice a year for a quick shower. It’s one of my least favorite things about Doha, and that’s saying alot. There’s nothing like being safe and warm in your home while the rain pours down outside.

  2. October 5, 2009 11:12 am

    I love, love, love everything about rain, too. The sound, the smell, the way it cleans up everything (including my car). I love it most when it rains and I don’t have to go anywhere but just stay home and listen to it.

  3. October 6, 2009 9:44 pm

    This is good…..we all need the rainy days to be reminded of what it can wash away….to slow down….and be thankful for the sunny ones!

Leave a Reply

