Skip to content

In and On

October 10, 2009

On my desk:

School Education by Charlotte Mason
Hamlet by Shakespeare
A History of US by Hakim
Five million papers that I need to grade

In my mind:

Trying to figure out a cheap way to do Disney in the Spring
Wondering if I need to grade the five million papers
Thinking about a good friend from college who is having a really rough Saturday
Wishing I had more energy for my life

On my calendar:

No. No. I don’t want to look at my calendar right now. Never mind.

In my medicine cabinet:

Floss
Prescription-strength Motrin
Tweezers that don’t work on my eyebrows anymore
Hugh’s weird eyedrop stuff from six years ago

On my bed:

A very sick six-year old girl
Harley, the basset/beagle rescue dog we adopted a year ago
A cute notebook from my teacher conference

In my google reader:
Valerie (She loves God. She even makes me miss homeschooling sometimes!)
Renee Swope (She spoke at She Speaks. I started reading her blog. Go and read the last few weeks. You’ll be super-glad you did. Heart.)
Me  (Do you do that? Do you subscribe to your own blog? Maybe I’m the only one.)

What about you?  (Just answer the medicine cabinet one.  Don’t you think that is the most interesting? Hee.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 8:28 pm

    Interesting meme! You might want to check out Disney’s “Give a Day, Get a Day” program–you volunteer a day and get a day pass to Disney!

  2. October 11, 2009 3:47 am

    I made Jess’ blog! I’m famous by association! It’s 4:30am and I’m not responsible for what I say!

    By my left hand sits an enormous stack of papers to be checked. That stack reminds me of my days teaching high school English. Then I remember that there aren’t 160 essays on John Donne’s Meditation 17 in that stack to be read, commented on, graded, and recorded and I feel better. But reading your posts on teaching high school does make me miss the parts of teaching I loved best – the kids, talking to them, reading to them, being part of their lives, picking up their way of talking so that I used the word “like” way too often.

    In my medicine cabinet are bottles of antihistamine, which are the reason I am currently awake. I’m waiting for them to kick in and being on the computer helps me ignore the itching until the miracle pills make the hives go away. There’s also some Tylenol for the fever I had earlier this evening. I am desperately hoping it was just a short episode of punyness and not the swine flu hubby had last week since my parents are driving out tomorrow for an extended visit. They’ve already rented a U-Haul trailer and are bringing my grandmother’s buffet. (Now that’s a story I will be posting to y blog soon.) I do feel much better now, so I have high hopes that the fever was just a fluke.

    And, what do you know!, I’m also trying to think of a cheap way to do Disney in the spring. My parents want us all to go in February and if we stay off property and share a condo through vrbo.com, it helps quite a bit with lodging costs. Of course, then we lose the perks of staying on property. I just keep telling my parents it will probably come down to what our tax return looks like. Maybe I’ll take a job at the mall for the holiday season. By February, I would NEED a vacation!

  3. October 13, 2009 12:08 pm

    oooh, I hope your girlie feels better soon! I think I’ll fill this out– because it sounds fun, & because the kids are watching mickey mouse at the moment…

    on my desk: my snack (pecans & cranberries), camera, sunglasses, 2 nursing pads, a pacifier, a wrist rattle, a water bottle, my grocery list, a paintbrush (?), a pack of blank notecards, and a stray earing. Nice.

    on my mind: What are we going to do today? Gotta get these kids out of the house but it’s been rainy and groceries will be delivered after naps. Kevin’s marathon. Going back to work. Swine flu. How and when I can do my Bible Study & get the house cleaned today! Blah blah blah!

    on my calendar: nothing today!

    in my medicine cabinet: Seriously!? Mine has SO much!!
    toothpaste, brush, floss, mouthwash, teeth whitener, nail clippers, tweezers, tylenol&advil, a whole slew of Rx allergy meds, in addition to benadryl, sudafed, claritin. Robitussin.

    on my bed: jumbled up blankets, a waterproof changing pad with (shhh!) a diaper on it, another nursing pad with 2 race cars on it (my 3-year-old was putting them to sleep on it), and a duffle bag. Like I said, I have *got* to clean this house!!

    no google reader, but bloglines: A very long list! Mostly including friends blogs. Though three others that I like to (try to) read regularly are yours, resolved 2 worship (resolved2worship.xanga.com/), & heart & home (heart-and-home.net/). And, yes, for some reason, mine is on my list too! LOL

    and on my lap, just because it’s the best thing I could possibly list, is my sweet 9-week-old boy, falling in and out of sleep. I love those sleepy eyes as they gaze up at me during the drifting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

