Skip to content

General Tso’s Chicken

October 16, 2009

I feel like my brain is going to EXPLODE.

Splat.

(Did you get a little bit of my brain hitting you in the face? Hm.)

Here is why:

I spent six hours in meetings doing progress reports today. SIX HOURS.  Can’t I just say that every student is a glorious gift from Jesus and is wonderful?  Please?

While I was working, my children were playing with some friends.  One of my children stole a toy from a friend and I had to return the toy (accompanied by my sobbing child) to the friend’s house. Parenting is exhausting.  Good, but exhausting.

While I was driving my child to the friend’s house to apologize, I ran over a bunny.  I know it was a bunny because I wheeled around to see what I just hit and I saw it lying dead in the road.

Also, I have worked more in the last three weeks than I can remember working in a long time.  I am trying to learn about Reconstruction politics but I don’t know much about the Presidents between Lincoln and Roosevelt. I need to start teaching that period of history in six days.

Also, I am snappy with my family, my dog has bad breath, and my mother-in-law is possibly coming down to visit us this week.

Sigh.

I’ve completely lost perspective. Yesterday I read all about this mom who was horribly burned in a plane crash and I realized that my life is actually pretty good and I should be grateful.

But today I am tired and wondering why we can’t always order Chinese food for dinner, please, so I can munch on General Tso’s Chicken while lamenting my life.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. diane permalink
    October 16, 2009 9:34 pm

    Jess- You should teach 5th grade! Nine students. All perfect. We study Abe Lincoln then the wild west. No KKK and lots of presidents . Be jealous.
    Diane

  2. Sumi permalink
    October 17, 2009 12:37 am

    Are you using a History of US? I LOVE that curriculum! This is my second year teaching from Book 7 onwards. Reconstruction and all that. Email me or leave a comment on my blog if you have any questions.

    I have hit an oh-my-gosh-I-am-going-nuts spot this week. I am ready for a (short)break from teaching!

    http://www.sumijoti.wordpress.com

  3. October 17, 2009 5:23 am

    …because the msg really would make your brain explode. hang in there!

  4. October 17, 2009 1:15 pm

    Ditto what TJ said! Order pizza instead. 😀

    Seriously, (((hugs))). Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

