Skip to content

Post on Fie-ah! *

November 5, 2009

 

Today I MUST:

1.  Go through my Twitter followers and eliminate all followers trying to sell me things.  Like trips to Arizona.  What is that about, anyway?  I don’t want to go to Arizona.  I can’t even find Arizona on a map.

2.  Make a plan for more integration of Geography in my History classes.  So my students can find all states – including Arizona.

3.  Explain to Hugh why it is reallyreallyreally important for me to get a new, cool cell phone.  Discuss that I need to be culturally relevant since I teach High School.  Point out that my twenty dollar Target cell phone is neither cool nor relevant.

4.  Write an email to my crazy Aunt explaining that when she sends me hateful emails and copies other family members that I want to throw things at her head.  Possibly my cell phone.

5.  Spend some time praying about my anger. Ask Jesus, “Why do I want to throw things at people’s heads?”.  Remember to write down answer in cute new prayer journal.

6.  Make a cute new prayer journal.

7.  Explain to my son that the following statement is NOT acceptable:  “You don’t love me because you took away my video games.”

8.  Read new diet book from doctor.  EW!!!!!  Hate diets.  Which is part of the problem.  Sigh.  Ask Hugh if I can take illegal street diet drugs instead of eliminating carbs.

9.  Look at pile of papers to be graded.  Light them on fire instead of grading them.  When students ask if I am going to return their History Papers to them, smile encouragingly and say, “Great paper!  It was on fie-ah!”

10.  Go to Target and walk around looking at all the new Christmas things.  Buy unnecessary toys for my children because I have “took away video game” guilt.  Go home.

 

*The word “fie-ah” is a very cool way of saying “fire”.  I understand not everyone has a keen grasp of slang, so I provided a definition.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. T.O. permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:23 pm

    That was an amazing way of saying “fire”.

  2. Mander permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:00 pm

    YOU are on FIE-AH!!!

  3. November 5, 2009 4:47 pm

    Hahaha!! Thanks for the laugh…just what I needed. Love number #4.

  4. November 5, 2009 8:13 pm

    That was officially an amazing blog. you are pretty awesome, i must admit.

  5. November 5, 2009 9:34 pm

    I relate to your twitter woes… I really wish I could figure out how all the weird twitter people find me. If you figure that out, let me know. Someone tried to get me to see Miley Cyrus naked through twitter this week. Yep, blocked that one.

    And I like your idea about the papers. I think I can use it too. Do you think it’s a bad idea if I just set this stack of bills on fie-ah instead of paying them? Burn baby burn!

  6. November 6, 2009 10:19 am

    Would it be weird to say I love you?
    You have such a great balance of humor and wisdom on your blog, often using humor to share wisdom and constantly keeping it real. I love to come over here and read, never knowing what awaits me that day. Things that make me go “Hmmm” or things that make me laugh out loud. On the best days, like today, it’s a combination of both. Thank you for sharing!!

  7. November 6, 2009 10:12 pm

    you made me laugh, and that was the best part of my evening.

    thanks, jess! 🙂

  8. November 7, 2009 12:55 am

    Love it, love it, love it!!!

    And I’m right there with you in the “hate diets” mode. Also, a big part of my problem. And you totally made me jealous that you have a Target with Christmas things. Sigh…I love Target. *sniff, sniff*

  9. November 7, 2009 2:58 pm

    Stopped and pondered for a moment. Arizona? Nope. Couldn’t point it out to you…even if, say, I had to do it or be set on fie-ah. 😉

  10. November 7, 2009 8:45 pm

    You crack me up. Don’t throw anything at anyone’s head.

Leave a Reply

