Skip to content

Enough.

November 9, 2009

🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mander permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:55 am

    Amen sweetie! I love you.

  2. November 10, 2009 11:25 am

    learning how to say “no.” is a hard thing to do, but as you said it really is a blessing. You are now able to make yourself more available for the things that really matter in your life….

    this was something that took some getting used to for me. I never was able to tell people no before, but it got to the point that even if i agreed to help with whatever they were asking me to do my help was useless and made me feel like more of a burden than anything else.

    I still help on my good days, but i make sure my home and my family come first.

    I hope you have a great day, jess. you always brighten mine! 🙂

  3. November 10, 2009 11:47 pm

    Jess,
    So good to hear you drawing those lines. I have been praying about it since I started working, and today, after talking with my associate pastor, he helped me realize that there is no such thing as a part time job at our church, UNLESS i draw the lines.

    I was working all day yesterday and today, plus meetings afterwards, and I didn’t go home inbetween because the driving time wasn’t worth the short time at home alone with no one here to see (Dave was working, kids at grandparents). So i nearly ended up working straight through till the meetings.

    As i walked out of the building with the pastor, he sensed, i think where I was at before I did. After he talked, giving me permission to say “enough” was when I realized, I really did need that permission, to know it was ok to say, NO, I can’t be part of that committee, or that ministry team, or that meeting…

    I am proud of you for how you are prioritizing things. I am praying I will be able to do as well! (and yes, i know you have done it some kicking and screaming… but at the same time, you have done it!!!!)

    Love you!
    Heather

  4. November 12, 2009 9:04 pm

    this post was positively inspirational. i’m such a horrid commenter, but you should know how much telling your journey encourages me through mine.
    (even mentioned so on my last post)

    keep pressing on, girl. and keep telling us about it.

Leave a Reply

