Skip to content

Pilgrims, Guns, and Puppies

November 19, 2009

Christmas is in full swing at our house. We celebrated an early Thanksgiving this year and are spending the weekend unloading holiday decorations and setting up the Christmas tree.

To kick-off the beginning of the holiday season, our children are spending time poring over weekly ads promising “deals better than Black Friday.” Jon-David has circled several toys.  He wants several Nerf guns and lots of accessories.

Hannajean and Lucy would like:

1. Guinea pigs – real ones with a cute house
2. Several FurReal pets – including the baby elephant
3. Outfits for their toy puppies

Guns and puppies. Sigh. I wonder how I can achieve “Christmas is about Jesus and family” this year?

I’ve been reading some early American History books, and I’m learning about some of the different motivations for settling in the “New World”.  I’ve always known about the Pilgrims and their search for religious freedom, but I’ve discovered that there were other, earlier European visitors.  They believed that there were huge deposits of gold as well as other resources in our future nation. Fisherman, trappers, and other fortune-seekers sought resources for trade decades before the Pilgrims wearily landed in Plymouth.

From its earliest days, it seems like our country has focused on material wealth. So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that my own family struggles to lay aside desires for gold, fur, and toy puppies and think about Jesus.

To be honest, I will probably dash out to the toy store before the weekend is over and fill my cart with “Door Buster” deals from the latest “Mega Sale”.

But maybe I’ll try to pause a little this Christmas season with my children. I’ll set up the Advent Wreath and take time to reflect on a small baby, born with nothing, come to earth to give me everthing that really matters.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 9:09 am

    Loved this post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

