Skip to content

The “Get Closer to Jesus” Plan

December 6, 2009

…And that means it is time for me to figure out my new “Get Closer to Jesus in the New Year” plan!

Oh my gosh.  I love December for this reason.

Every year in December I sit down and try to figure out:

1.  What’s working for me in my relationship with Christ?

2.  How am I doing spiritually?  Am I growing in discipline?  In the fruit of the Spirit?*

3.  What new tools do I need in the coming year?

Fun!!!

Today I revamped my Prayer Notebook and started my One-Year Bible plan.  I like to start early because I know I’m going to get behind.  Plus, starting in Matthew really focuses me on the birth of Jesus.

Today I also ordered some new Bible study stuff.

This:

And this:

And this:

I am also going to redo my Prayer Room before January…maybe get some new candles and set up my iPod player on the shelf.

I am so excited – This is the best part of this month.  Plus, it keeps my focus on Jesus instead of all the things I want for Christmas that I don’t. need. at. all.

What are you doing to grow closer to Jesus?  (I always feel lame throwing questions out…Especially when NO ONE ANSWERS them.  But, you know, I’m feeling VERY spiritual today. So, I can handle rejection.)

.

.

.

*Fair. No.  Not really.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 12:02 am

    I am working on writing a Bible study. seems I learn better when I teach.

  2. December 7, 2009 8:41 am

    focusing on a) redirecting my 4 year old to the true meaning of christmas. how did a kid who has been surrounded in jesus for almost 5 years get to believe that santa (who has never brought him so much as a candy cane) is real and is the reason for christmas? where did he get this? he’s homeschooled and his social activities are currently all church-based, and he didn’t get it from me.
    b) praying without ceasing and being thankful in all circumstances. trying to really take every thought captive and redirect it to jesus. failing often, but this is definitely a way to see grace increase! Jesus is so gracious and gentle even when i (regularly) make an idiot of myself by going down my own path.

  3. Sherlyn permalink
    December 7, 2009 8:51 am

    I love this post Jessica. We must be two peas in a pod, because I’ve been revamping my current way of time with the Lord too. Lately, I’ve been taking a passage of Scripture to meditate on and then writing a poem/song related to the theme. I thought it would be really hard to do, but I discovered it just flowed and it REALLY drew me closer to the Lord. The other thing I’m doing is drawing/illustrating simple stick figure pictures to go along with the Scripture – most of the time the figures help me link how what I read applies to my life currently. It sounds corny…but I’m hooked on it – it has given me a fresh passion for time with the Lord and has helped me focus on what He is speaking to me.
    Hope this encourages you!! Love ya!
    Sherlyn

  4. Helky permalink
    December 7, 2009 9:02 am

    You guys are so blessed there in America by having so many books and tools to use for study the Bible. Here, where I come from – Poland – it is hard for me to find non-Catholic Bible in the store. I go to the church of Nazareen and my spiritual parents (pastor and his wife) are THE ONLY Nazareen missionaries in Poland. Two people – for the whole country. I pray for you so much. I love Americans. I love that you have so many opportunities to learn and grow and so many of you keep doing this and keep using that staff that you have. I pray especially for you Jess and your family. Your blog inspires me to learn and grow and seek the Truth. Please, remember – you guys are SOOOOO BLESSED!!!

  5. December 7, 2009 10:30 am

    My hubs had to read “Grasping God’s Word” for a seminary class and I snatched it up when he was done with it! I read it back in the spring. It’s got some great nuggets in it! 🙂

  6. December 7, 2009 11:28 am

    Jess,
    Love the new website. The falling snow is cool. At least I hope it’s your website and not my computer — or my eyes.

    For next year, I am joining Wendy Pope of Proverbs 31 and some of the other ladies on a One Year Chronological bible journey. I have read the bible in one year before but never chronologically. (We’ll see how this perfectionist handles seeing Psalms in the middle of Kings and Pauls letters in the middle of Acts. Aaack!) I’m looking forward to it.

    I’m also doing the Koinonia class, Overview of the Old Testament. I am loving, loving that, too. We’re on week 2 right now and it goes to 12 weeks.

    Our women’s group is presently studing Lies Women Believe and after that we will tackle Revelation.

    Reading my three paragraphs I realize I’m going to have a busy year. But a good busy year spent in His Word.

    May all of us grow in our respective journey with Jesus.

  7. December 7, 2009 2:33 pm

    (No one answers questions on my blog either. So don’t feel bad.)

    Anyway, Sarah and I are doing an inductive family Advent study that I found several years ago–this is our third year of it. This year, she actually seems to be “getting” some of it, instead of just coloring the pictures. 🙂

    In January, my Precepts class starts back. We’ll be studying Daniel.

    Praying a lot lately–God seems to be keeping me dependent on Him! 😉

  8. Roisin Jenkins permalink
    December 7, 2009 5:06 pm

    I love the falling snow too!! I’m two weeks into my ‘Read the Bible in a year’ programme, yes I know I’ve started it late! but better late than never. This is the first time I’ve done this and really loving it…definitely taking me closer to God. I’ve requested a nice journal for christmas which I will start making notes in as I go along. Jess I love your blog, it is so honest and encouraging. Keep it up!

    Roisin (UK)

Leave a Reply

