Skip to content

Middle-of-Nowhere, Kentucky. Please shoot me.

June 22, 2010

Next week we are driving ten hours to the Middle of Nowhere, Kentucky. Hugh and ALL THREE OF MY CHILDREN are going to be in his brother’s wedding. I will be dressed in some kind of black suit designed make me look one hundred pounds lighter while I sit in the back row of the small church.

There are many reasons I don’t want to go to this wedding. The main reason is that we don’t really get along with Hugh’s brother. His dad’s death last year has made the relationship even worse as things like lost wills, inheritances, and funeral day drama have caused even more tension.

But we are all still going to the wedding next weekend. And I am trying (and failing, mostly) to have a good attitude.

Hugh decided last week that we should cancel our trip. “This is ridiculous,” he said, leaning back in our new IKEA bedroom chair. “We are going to spend a ton of money on this wedding and my brother won’t even care.”

I agreed. Maybe we should cancel the trip. Twenty hours in our minivan with three grumpy children, two rumpled flower girl dresses, and one five-year-old tv/dvd car unit that doesn’t work very well? Um, no.

Then we both took time to pray and realized that his father would want us to go. Maybe it doesn’t make much sense to go to this wedding in honor of someone who isn’t alive anymore, but that is the only way I can force myself to attend.

So I’m off to look for that black suit now. Hopefully I can find a good sale. Maybe I’ll find the outfit quickly and have some time left over this afternoon to pray about my stinky attitude.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rainbow Brite permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:54 pm

    I am proud of you. And no, it is not a silly reason to go to this wedding in honor of your father-in-law. In fact, that is a very noble reason to go. I know that he would not like how his two sons are fighting and arguing right now. Even if your BIL does not notice or care about all of the effort that it is for your family to attend his wedding, be comforted that your FIL would be thrilled with Hugh’s decision to put their differences aside for one day. I know that he will be smiling down from Heaven next week. He will be so proud of his boys. And your Heavenly Father will be proud too.

  2. jesslovesjesus permalink*
    June 22, 2010 10:26 pm

    I love you, RB. 🙂

  3. June 22, 2010 10:42 pm

    i don’t think it’s a silly reason to go, either. also, you’ll never regret an opportunity to express that you love the b-i-l in spite of your differences. you might regret passing that same opportunity up if you chose that path.

  4. June 23, 2010 7:05 am

    You don’t really know me….I subscribed to your blog just before you quit blogging publicly and was SO excited to see your note in my mailbox telling me you were coming back 🙂
    ….here’s my take on what you just shared [ and I know exactly how you feel ] but not only is it what Hugh’s father would have wanted by what THE FATHER would want you to do…….love love love till it hurts and then love some more!

  5. June 23, 2010 9:14 pm

    Hey honey!! I’m so happy to be reading your blog again!! 😀
    This is a tough situation 😦 I think it is so sweet to go in honor of your father in law. And hopefully (maybe) things can turn around with your BIL and then you won’t feel bad for not going.
    Good luck!

  6. Rainbow Brite permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:09 am

    i love you too, JLJ!

Leave a Reply

