Skip to content

A Letter to my Son: Reflections on our meeting today

June 29, 2010

Dear Jon-David,

The moment I found out you were a boy, I loved you.  I came home from the free clinic where I got my ultrasound (your daddy and I were poor in college, Son!) and I wrote you a letter.  I told you that I couldn’t wait to watch you play baseball  and I dreamed of the day we would stay up late talking.

I grew up with a little brother who loved baseball and talking – my baby brother and I were deeply connected to each other because of our crazy childhood.  I looked forward to that connection with my own son.

You entered the world almost ten years ago with so much potential.  But you aren’t exactly the boy I thought I would have – you are even more incredible.  You don’t love baseball.  In fact, you don’t get sports at all.  You don’t really want to spend hours talking to me, unless it’s to discuss the details of your latest Sudoku book  or to ask me how Time Travel works (I still don’t know).

Lately your Dad and I have finally figured out some answers to the puzzle of your brain.  We’ve started to understand why some things are hard for you – and why some things are easy, too.  Today when you, me, and Daddy met with Dr. G. to go over some of the “puzzle”, I was so proud of the way you listened.

You know, Jon-David, you may never care about baseball.  You may never hold my hand and tell me you understand how I’m feeling.  And you may not be the boy I thought I would have.

But you are the boy I want.

I am so proud to be your Mom, Son.  In every SINGLE way.

I love you so much and I can’t wait to see how God uses your unique gifts and talents to make a difference in our world.  It is going to be so cool, bud.

love,

Mommy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 7:26 am

    This is the BEST, Jess. We didn’t a “good mom” to teach us how to be a good mom – but honey, you are a GOOD MOM! Love this note. You are blessed & a blessing.

    -Kelly

  2. June 30, 2010 6:55 pm

    beautiful. i love that you love your kids for who they are, and if they don’t appreciate it yet, i know someday they will and pass that same generosity on to others and back to you.

  3. July 2, 2010 8:38 pm

    This is so sweet & it brought tears to my eyes. I wish I could express the feelings I have for my sons the way you have!

Leave a Reply

