Skip to content

Questions to ask your recently rediscovered biological father that you have not seen in thirty-two years:

March 17, 2012

1. How are you?

2. Is this whole thing awkward for you?

3. So you’re a… lawyer? And…um…do you like your job?

4. What do you like to do besides work?

5. Do you have a favorite book? (Then refuse to tell him your favorite book because you are afraid your selection won’t seem cool/smart/thoughtful/etc enough).

6. Are you interested in knowing things about my childhood?

7. Don’t you feel like you’re more THEIR dad than MY dad?

8. Did you ever think about me?

9. Are you sure you want me in your life?

10. Can I see you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    March 17, 2012 6:15 pm

    1. Fat and Sassy
    2. No
    3. Yes
    4. Read SF, Play with gadgets, chase my wife around
    5. Yes. I seem to be mesmerized by books by John Ringo. He is different in person
    6. Yes. I am prepared to laugh and cry
    7. I know them much better than I know you. I love them. I love you. But my favorite person is my wife. that’s OK, I still love you.
    8. Yes. I completely misread the reality.
    9. Yup
    10. Easter weekend. ( A Hallmark moment)

  2. March 18, 2012 1:33 pm

    This makes me teary. Love you, sweetie.

  3. tanajune permalink
    March 20, 2012 7:07 am

    Good questions, and I thought the answers were pretty good, too. Mark’s a blessed guy to have you back in his life.

Leave a Reply

