Skip to content

Risen

March 19, 2012

Yesterday I was driving home from Amy’s house when my cell phone rang. It was Mark.
“Crap,” I thought, “I must have accidentally dialed his number.” It didn’t seem possible that he would be calling me, especially because we spoke earlier in the week.

Why would my father want to keep getting to know me?

It turned out that he was calling me. We spoke for about a half hour and it was delightful. We’ve spoken about five times now. Every time we speak I grow to like him a little more. He seems smart and funny. He is engaging and a little crazy.

Earlier this week he invited our family for Easter. My children are extremely excited – especially at the thought of having a grandfather again. They haven’t had a grandfather since David died three years ago. As Lucy said, “Mommy, I didn’t know that people could have TWO grandpas!”

I hope for their sakes, too, that our big reunion goes okay.

Yet each time I talk to him I’m starting to believe that it will.

When I was a little girl, I never dreamed about my father returning. Ever. I never had this fantasy that he would show up and want me. That my dad would say, “I was wrong and I’m sorry and of course I love you and come see me for Easter.”

It was a dream that was so deeply buried that it was dead.

But this dream is resurrecting. So maybe Easter is the perfect time to see my father.

The day when dead things come to life.

The day when God makes all things new.

Risen, indeed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie Renner permalink
    March 19, 2012 11:54 am

    YES! So wonderful!

  2. tanajune permalink
    March 20, 2012 7:10 am

    I was thinking just yesterday (when I read the questions post) that Easter seemed like a perfect time for reuniting. Hoping for you and your kids that it’s the first of many amazing weekends.

Leave a Reply

