Skip to content

Seven fun facts about my family visit yesterday:

March 24, 2012

1. I woke up at 3am and wiped my kitchen floor with baby wipes in anticipation of their visit the next day.  

2. I cried when I saw my brother Nick.  He is 6″4 and he has my nose and I love him and I feel like I’ve known him my whole life, which is weird and not weird, I guess.

3. My stepmother brought us baked goods, so obviously I love her.  Shouldn’t there be a sixth love language?  And shouldn’t it be food?

4. My sister Becca is just…lovely.  We’ve talked a bunch on the phone so I already felt really comfortable with her.  

5. My stepmom, Jan, and my siblings kept saying how much I look like my dad. That felt strange.  But I also felt oddly satisfied.  There is this part of me that was afraid I called the wrong person a few weeks ago and  I’ve been getting to know some strange man who actually isn’t my biological dad.  But if I look like him, then I guess I’m related to him.

6. I was so nervous before they came but I felt a lot calmer once they were here.  

7. After they left, I fell asleep at 8:00pm and slept for twelve hours.  This “new family” stuff is completely exhausting.  Wonderful, but exhausting.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. trendyand2kids permalink
    March 24, 2012 8:19 am

    I love you

  2. trendyand2kids permalink
    March 24, 2012 8:30 am

    Dear Jess’s Dad, Jan, Nick, and Becca,

    #1) I am now sure if anyone has said this yet, but I just want to thank you all for coming into Jess’s life, and for allowing us to watch your journey. I know that it takes alot of maturity to allow the intimate details of your part in this process to be displayed on this blog. Your transparency is appreciated more than you could ever know.

    #2) I may or may not have been facebook stalking you all for the past few days, and agree with Jess that you are all lovely.

    #3) Jess’s daughters look like their Aunt Becca.

    #4) I have a soft spot in my heart for anything related to Jess (like her cute brother Jonny), so please bear with me as I admire you from afar. (a nice term for facebook stalking?)

    #5) I agree that yes, Jess does look like her Dad.

    #6) For the record, I think he is very cute 😛

    #7) Sorry if the stalking weirds you out. I have alot of time on my hands these days, but I am harmless, I promise.

    Love,

    Brenda

  3. tanajune permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:41 pm

    Completely awesome.

Leave a Reply

